Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Space Empires: 4X» Forums » Rules

Subject: Technology when splitting a Group? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Patrick
Canada
Stratford
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's a question after my first solo playthrough:

Let's say I have two ships under my DD-1 Group Marker with Attack level 1, Defense Level 1 and Move 3.

Am I allowed to split that group in half by putting my DD-2 group marker on the board?

If yes, and the last time DD-2 was on the board it only got up to Move 2, does it automatically get boosted to Move 3?

Thank you kindly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Olesen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DD-1 and DD-2 are just markers. It's the ship(s) they represent that hold the tecnhnologies.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick
Canada
Stratford
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So is the answer to my question "yes, you'd upgrade the DD-2 marker on your sheet"?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick
Canada
Stratford
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
colmmccarthy wrote:
Yes.


Thank you sir. Playing this multiplayer for the first time tomorrow night. It seems like a great game based on the solo run I had.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Roberts
United States
Albion
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My problem with the instant upgrade variant is that it really changes the cat-and-mouse part of the game. Raiders (or fighters, or any other tech with a counter) become less valuable when the opponent can immediate equip his ships with the counter once the threat has been revealed.

Raiders are vicious when it is going to take a couple of Econ turns to get some DD with scanners built and in place...

don
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.