Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movements and Battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carol
Luxembourg
Luxembourg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule question. Do I get right that if I am moving multiple units into a tile with enemy Mech I can move as many as I want and battle only starts when my move action is finished? So battle is not triggered with the 1st Mech entering but the last one?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Clarke
United Kingdom
Caithness
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar

Correct.

The more combat pieces you place there, the more cards you can play.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can also choose to battle with the first Mech moved into that territory after it moves. Then if you win and have the Speed ability unlocked, you could move other Mechs/character through that territory you just battled in to get to one territory past it. So you would have to have had those extra Mechs adjacent to the combat territory to begin with in order to move through it with Speed.

The point is that you don't have to complete all moves before resolving a combat or sending a lone worker home. In conjunction with Speed, this allows you to possibly clear out a territory first that would normally force your other units to stop.

Jamey just mentioned this somewhere. Because some people thought you had to complete all moves before resolving certain things, but he said the intent is for you to move and resolve independently.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J Kaemmer
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hahma wrote:
You can also choose to battle with the first Mech moved into that territory after it moves. Then if you win and have the Speed ability unlocked, you could move other Mechs/character through that territory you just battled in to get to one territory past it. So you would have to have had those extra Mechs adjacent to the combat territory to begin with in order to move through it with Speed.

The point is that you don't have to complete all moves before resolving a combat or sending a lone worker home. In conjunction with Speed, this allows you to possibly clear out a territory first that would normally force your other units to stop.

Jamey just mentioned this somewhere. Because some people thought you had to complete all moves before resolving certain things, but he said the intent is for you to move and resolve independently.


Not quite. The pass-through rule is only for displacing workers because it isn't combat. Combat srill takes place at the end of the action.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Moser
United States
Escondido
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
iswearihaveajob wrote:
Hahma wrote:
You can also choose to battle with the first Mech moved into that territory after it moves. Then if you win and have the Speed ability unlocked, you could move other Mechs/character through that territory you just battled in to get to one territory past it. So you would have to have had those extra Mechs adjacent to the combat territory to begin with in order to move through it with Speed.

The point is that you don't have to complete all moves before resolving a combat or sending a lone worker home. In conjunction with Speed, this allows you to possibly clear out a territory first that would normally force your other units to stop.

Jamey just mentioned this somewhere. Because some people thought you had to complete all moves before resolving certain things, but he said the intent is for you to move and resolve independently.


Not quite. The pass-through rule is only for displacing workers because it isn't combat. Combat srill takes place at the end of the action.

Agreed. This is an important distinction. You cannot move units, engage in combat, and then move other units in the same turn. Displacing workers as part of your movement is not considered combat.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dmoser22 wrote:
iswearihaveajob wrote:
Hahma wrote:
You can also choose to battle with the first Mech moved into that territory after it moves. Then if you win and have the Speed ability unlocked, you could move other Mechs/character through that territory you just battled in to get to one territory past it. So you would have to have had those extra Mechs adjacent to the combat territory to begin with in order to move through it with Speed.

The point is that you don't have to complete all moves before resolving a combat or sending a lone worker home. In conjunction with Speed, this allows you to possibly clear out a territory first that would normally force your other units to stop.

Jamey just mentioned this somewhere. Because some people thought you had to complete all moves before resolving certain things, but he said the intent is for you to move and resolve independently.


Not quite. The pass-through rule is only for displacing workers because it isn't combat. Combat srill takes place at the end of the action.

Agreed. This is an important distinction. You cannot move units, engage in combat, and then move other units in the same turn. Displacing workers as part of your movement is not considered combat.


Thanks for the correction fellas! I misunderstood part of that update. blush
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sky Zero
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
iswearihaveajob wrote:
Hahma wrote:
You can also choose to battle with the first Mech moved into that territory after it moves. Then if you win and have the Speed ability unlocked, you could move other Mechs/character through that territory you just battled in to get to one territory past it. So you would have to have had those extra Mechs adjacent to the combat territory to begin with in order to move through it with Speed.

The point is that you don't have to complete all moves before resolving a combat or sending a lone worker home. In conjunction with Speed, this allows you to possibly clear out a territory first that would normally force your other units to stop.

Jamey just mentioned this somewhere. Because some people thought you had to complete all moves before resolving certain things, but he said the intent is for you to move and resolve independently.


Not quite. The pass-through rule is only for displacing workers because it isn't combat. Combat srill takes place at the end of the action.


We actually played pass-through both with combat and non-combat on accident our first few plays and ended up leaving it that way. Created a bit more strategy at least for us in our gameplay and became a permanent house rule for my group.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.