Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Codex: Card-Time Strategy – Deluxe Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Death vs sacrifice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
terry leitzke
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mb
When I sacrifice a unit do I still trigger the when it dies ability?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Krasny
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Based on my MTG knowledge, I would say yes But I am no expert.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Churchill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambs
flag msg tools
designer
"If we knew what we were building, it wouldn't be called research!"
badge
Sufficiently advanced mathematics is indistinguishable from magic
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you do. When a unit is sacrificed, it dies.
Garth Torken (and all his Skeleton-sacrificing effects) are rather potent with Blood cards like Captured Bugblatter or Pirate-Gang Commander.

Unlike in MtG, indestructible things can't be sacrificed (any sacrifice effects skip over them when looking for something to make you sacrifice).

Note that "trash this card" / "trash some other card" plays the role of exile (well, and so does "return to codex"). Cards that are trashed don't get to trigger anything's "dies" effect.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Mathias
United States
Hendersonville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
qobdater wrote:
When I sacrifice a unit do I still trigger the when it dies ability?


In Magic, Dies is shorthand for a creature being placed into it's owner's graveyard (discard).

I don't know if that shorthand is the same for Codex, but I would assume with all the other borrowed mechanisms from Magic, that it's most likely the case.

That said it would be much easier to help with this rules question if we had a specific card name and text to evaluate.

Edit: See Alex's answer above, teaches me to not refresh before answering.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Sirlin
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Both rulebooks for Codex as well as an extensive set of rulings are linked here: http://sirlingames.com/rulebooks/

From the glossary on page 19 of the core (and deluxe) set rulebook:

Dies: Do X When this is put into your discard pile from play, do X.

So yes, sacrificing a unit causes it to die because it then goes from in-play to your discard pile. Trashing the unit or returning it to your codex would not cause it to "die" though because that's sending it to a zone other than your discard pile.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Smith
msg tools
mb
so a token unit unable to "die"... is it true??
gulp
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Maisonneuve
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sequor wrote:
so a token unit unable to "die"... is it true??
gulp


A token can die.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Sirlin
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
A token that's destroyed does "die." It was in play then it went to discard pile, but then a separate rule says that when tokens go to zones other than in-play, they disappear. So it really does "die" but it doesn't sit around in your discard pile. The hint is that the official tokens have a different card back, so you know they can't stick around in the discard pile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.