Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Upgrade Slots Being Added rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Wood
United States
Cambridge
Vermont
flag msg tools
"Ahh! The aroma of several adventure games emanates from your person."
badge
"Save early, save often."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about using cards that add upgrade slots to ships.

For example:

Crewman Jenkins adds one additional Tech slot to your ship's upgrade bar.

If I use a card like that, does the ship need to have at least one Tech slot already?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Typheron Joyzxqk
United Kingdom
Bathgate
Scotland
flag msg tools
Ordo Xenos | T.I.U.F.
badge
Set Phasers tae Malkey!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, it would only need a crew slot to take the upgrade that provides the new slot.

Belanna Torres is a crew and she adds one weapon and one tech for instance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wood
United States
Cambridge
Vermont
flag msg tools
"Ahh! The aroma of several adventure games emanates from your person."
badge
"Save early, save often."
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, good. ^^ Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Wene
United States
Unspecified
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
And for upgrades like these, if they are disabled or discarded in some way, do the bonus slots also go away?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Brill
msg tools
mb
No, the slots stay unless the card says otherwise. However, some cards are assigned to other cards (e.g. elite talents/hidden cards) and may become unavailable if the original card is discarded before they get used.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trueflight Silverwing
United States
Waverly
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike Wene wrote:
And for upgrades like these, if they are disabled or discarded in some way, do the bonus slots also go away?


There is one card "Romulan High Command" I think it is, that specifically states that you lose the extra slots it provides if something happens to it, but as Mike Wene pointed out, for the most part you do not lose them, though you may lose the ability to use some that are attached to another card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liam Thompson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mb
Ender02 wrote:
Mike Wene wrote:
And for upgrades like these, if they are disabled or discarded in some way, do the bonus slots also go away?


There is one card "Romulan High Command" I think it is, that specifically states that you lose the extra slots it provides if something happens to it, but as Mike Wene pointed out, for the most part you do not lose them, though you may lose the ability to use some that are attached to another card.


As does "Ibix Dynasty", a Xindi Elite Talent that came with Azati Prime.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In fact, the additional slots given by upgrades only exist during fleet building and go away as soon as the game starts.
This mainly only matters for shuttle situations.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.