Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

War of the Ring (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some More Rules Questions from Last Game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Pham
Canada
flag msg tools
1. Shadows on the Misty Mountains - Recruit two Sauron units (Regular or Elite) and one Nazgul in either Mount Gram or in Moria.

Do you have to recruit all those units in one place, or can you spread them between Mount Gram and Moria?

2. For 'play on the table' cards that are able to be discarded by the enemy player, ie. A Power Too Great or Denethor's Folly, the 'discard action' doesn't count as an actual action, like using an action die, does it? Almost certain the answer is no but SP asked to to ask.

3. What happens if you play a recruitment card on a captured settlement? Example, SP has taken and is occupying Rivendell. What happens if I play Kindred of Glorfindel, which allows me to recruit an elven unit in Rivendell?

4. Scouts - Before the Combat roll, retreat your Army to an adjacent free region or withdraw into a siege.

Why does it give you the option to withdraw into a siege? If you are in a region with a friendly Stronghold, can't you always withdraw into a siege before the combat round?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Hansen
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1 - Recruits from Shadows on the Misty Mountains have to be all in the same place.
2 - Yes, discarding a card via spending a die counts as an actual action.
3 - You cannot recruit in a captured settlement
4 - Scouts in a siege situation is very rare. The only advantage is that you are potentially forcing the shadow player to "waste" a combat card.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raf B
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
3b. If the Free Peoples are besieging a Shadow-controlled Rivendell, then you can use Kindred of Glorfindel to recruit an Elven unit into the besieging Army. (Not easy to engineer such a thing, but this applies to similar recruitment cards except Eomer, Son of Edmund, which explicitly requires that the Settlement be free in order to recruit.)

4b. Jim's spot on - when a Stronghold is attacked, you might also fight a field battle instead of retreating into the Stronghold immediately, and use Scouts to nerf the Shadow's combat card. Same end result.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.