$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Stronghold (2nd edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Marksmen in Towers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tahsin Shamma
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Are marksmen in towers allowed to fire at invader units at an adjacent wall section.

If not, is there ever a way this can happen.

Also, if units are covered by a Mantelet, is there anything the defender can do to remove the Mantelet?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kolby Reddish
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
veector wrote:
Are marksmen in towers allowed to fire at invader units at an adjacent wall section.


No. Units on Wall sections can't be fired at. The Marksmen in towers fire at the opposing rampart (I think that's the name).

veector wrote:
Also, if units are covered by a Mantelet, is there anything the defender can do to remove the Mantelet?


Well Mantelets only block archer fire. The other Defender machines for instance can still fire there.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Skinner
United States
Framingham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think Marksmen can fire at the wall if they have the Bay Window.

andy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kolby Reddish
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
andyskinner wrote:
I think Marksmen can fire at the wall if they have the Bay Window.

andy


No. They add +1 in combat, but I don't think they can fire at the wall.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tahsin Shamma
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
reddish22 wrote:
andyskinner wrote:
I think Marksmen can fire at the wall if they have the Bay Window.

andy


No. They add +1 in combat, but I don't think they can fire at the wall.


+1 in addition to their strength value of 1 or +1 because of the bay window?

Tower 1 w/ Bay Window
2 Marksmen

On In Between Wall
2 Green guys
1 Red guy

Tower 2 w/o Bay Window
1 Marksman

Is the strength of the guys at the wall:

2 + 2 + 3 + 1 (Bay Window) + 2 (Markmen @ Tower 1) + 1 (Marksmen @ Tower 2)

11?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Skinner
United States
Framingham
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll try even if I made a mistake earlier. You learn by making mistakes, right? :)

Marksmen in towers do not normally add their strength to adjacent walls.
If a tower has a bay window, marksmen in that tower do add their strength (1) to the combat. Bay windows do not affect marksmen on the wall itself.

So 8, I think. 7 for the greens and red on the wall, 1 for the marksman on the tower with bay window.

Edit: Oops, I switched which tower had the bay window in my mind. So yes, 9.

andy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kolby Reddish
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
I think a Bay Window adds +1 Strength if there is a marksman manning it. They don't normally add their strength to either wall section if they're in a tower. But Bay Window allows +1 if there is a Marksman in it. Not +1 for each one.

So it'd be

+1 +1 (for Bay Windows) +2 +2 for Green Guys, +3 for Red Guy.

Total 9

Edit - Yes, confirmed on page 12 of the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Kolby is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob

Tennessee
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If the bay window only adds 1 if a marksman is present, shouldn't the total be:
4 - for 2 green footmen
3 - for 1 Red veteran footman
1 - for bay window with marksman present
8- Total

And if there were two marksmen in the tower, the total would still be 8, because bay windows can only add +1, regardless of how many occupants it has. Is that right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kolby Reddish
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
In the question there are two separate manned bay window towers each adding plus 1. My answer above is correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob

Tennessee
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok. I thought the question stated that tower 2 had 1 markskman and no bay window. Either way, it sounds like bay windows offer no melee bonus if unoccupied and add 1 melee strength to both adjacent walls if occupied by 1 or 2 marksmen.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike
Netherlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
reddish22 wrote:
veector wrote:
Also, if units are covered by a Mantelet, is there anything the defender can do to remove the Mantelet?


Well Mantelets only block archer fire. The other Defender machines for instance can still fire there.


Mantelets are siege equipment and can thus be affected by Malfunction, I think?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jooice ZP
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DreamStorm wrote:
reddish22 wrote:
veector wrote:
Also, if units are covered by a Mantelet, is there anything the defender can do to remove the Mantelet?


Well Mantelets only block archer fire. The other Defender machines for instance can still fire there.


Mantelets are siege equipment and can thus be affected by Malfunction, I think?



I didn't think so, but this opens a whole new can of worms...perhaps. new thread too?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kolby Reddish
United States
Nampa
Idaho
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
DreamStorm wrote:
reddish22 wrote:
veector wrote:
Also, if units are covered by a Mantelet, is there anything the defender can do to remove the Mantelet?


Well Mantelets only block archer fire. The other Defender machines for instance can still fire there.


Mantelets are siege equipment and can thus be affected by Malfunction, I think?


I agree with above. I think Malfunction only works on the three types of Invader items that fire. I'll look at the rulebook later today and come back with a more informed opinion.

EDIT: Rules specifically say on page 11 - malfunction only effects the Ballista, Catapult, and Trebuchet.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.