$30.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Hands in the Sea» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pillage Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Mandelberg
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I'm confused by this:

"A player may not pillage a location that is fortified, or that has an enemy Fleet in its Sea Zone, or in which a field battle or siege is currently being fought. However, a player can pillage a location in an adjacent Sea Zone containing an enemy Fleet only if your Fleet is also in the current Sea Zone."

1) in the first bolded phrase, what does "its" refer, the player, or the location?

2) in the second bolded phrase, what does "current" refer to?

Thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Stat
United Kingdom
Salisbury
Wilts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I also struggled with the rule as written, but example 2 on page 18 clears it up, I think. I would reword it something like this:

'If both fleets are in the same sea area, they prevent each other from pillaging the associated land area; but if a player can play 2 cards with ship symbols, the opponent's fleet does not prevent them from pillaging the land areas associated with the two adjacent sea areas'

Cheers
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Berger
United States
Littleton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Ed is correct.

So, for example, both players had fleets in the Sicily sea zone, neither player could pillage it. But, they could pillage locations adjacent to the Italy or Africa sea zones with the play of 2 ship symbols.

In other words, your fleet only protects the sea zone that it's in from enemy pillaging.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Mandelberg
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Got it, thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
S. R.
Germany
Mainz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
It's a fearful thing, to fall into the Hands of the Living God!
badge
Tell me, have you found the Yellow Sign?
mbmbmbmbmb
...and you can, of course, only ever pillage in the Sea Zone your fleet is in, and in the adjacent one (provided you have enough ship symbols), correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Berger
United States
Littleton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Dumon wrote:
...and you can, of course, only ever pillage in the Sea Zone your fleet is in, and in the adjacent one (provided you have enough ship symbols), correct?

Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.