GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!

9,212 Supporters

$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: RtL: Search Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Soylent Green
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Stop hovering over me!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So in RtL we don't get to cash in unused search cards for gold like in the standard campaign.

Where does it say in the rules what to do with them inbetween quests?

I see on page 10 what it says to do at end of quest... And it refers to page 3 setup rules... But, does it say anywhere clearly if we keep them between or discard them?

(Been playing that we discard between - but I'm not convinced! Original play had some benefit at least!)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Proto Persona
United States
N Richland Hills
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Road To Legend rules pg. 10 wrote:
End of Quest

A quest most often ends when players resolve their objective or when
morale is at 0 and a hero is knocked out. After a quest ends, players
transition to a view of the campaign map and resolve a campaign phase,
but first there are a couple of cleanup steps.

Heroes recover all wounds and fatigue, flip their Hero sheets face up, and discard all Condition cards. All table components and set aside components (see “Setup” on page 3) are returned to their respective supplies.


Setup rules list search cards as a component in question. My take is you definitely discard them at the end of a quest. Sort of a use it or lose it situation.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Soylent Green
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Stop hovering over me!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess I just ignored the "are returned to their respective supplies."



Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Lomas
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
SoylentRed wrote:
I guess I just ignored the "are returned to their respective supplies."



Thanks!


I agree that it basically makes them seem like an afterthought. Maybe the next full expansion will give us a new search deck or one that can be expanded like the Imperial Assault one, so they'll feel less pointless in RtL?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E1 Prime
Belgium
Deurne
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
badge
We do not stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So if I find an item, I have to discard it at the end of the scenario?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian H.
Germany
Weilburg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Evil Overlord
badge
Evil Overlord
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, you can never find an item via a search card in RtL. For clarification, this is a quote from the setup rules on page 3 of the manual:

RtL Manual wrote:
When preparing the Search deck, remove the “Nothing ,” “Treasure Chest,” and the “Secret Room” (if any) cards, and return them to the game box. Shuffle this deck.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E1 Prime
Belgium
Deurne
Antwerpen
flag msg tools
badge
We do not stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you DelphiDie, I missed that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian H.
Germany
Weilburg
Hessen
flag msg tools
Evil Overlord
badge
Evil Overlord
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You´re welcome, it´s an easy to miss rule
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Lomas
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
DelphiDie wrote:
You´re welcome, it´s an easy to miss rule


The only reason I found it was that I wondered how to add an item you'd got from a treasure chest. Once I realised there wasn't a way it suddenly made sense!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.