$30.00
Jason Loftiss
United States
Wichita Falls
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Should the British MG and Mortar units be treated like the British Carrier Platoons/Scout Platoons when they are loaded? The silhouettes are the same. I would expect them to fall under the same special rules under 12.6.1.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Mokszycki
United States
Snohomish
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
No. The MGs and mortars are weapons teams, not infantry, and they are treated as vehicles when on their Loaded sides.

The Carrier Platoons and Scout Platoons receive those beneficial special rules (12.6.1) because it's standard practice for them to quickly dismount under fire and advance using their armored carriers for cover.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Loftiss
United States
Wichita Falls
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarification.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Mokszycki
United States
Snohomish
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
The silhouettes are the same.

Actually, the silhouettes are different and historically accurate. Have a closer look...

(I'd have posted this sooner but Photobucket wasn't working for me.)



The first counter shows a mounted Bren gun as this is the usual configuration for the Carrier Platoons as well as the Scout Carriers.

The second shows the ammo trailer of the mortar carrier. The 4.2" mortar itself could not be fired from carrier. It is disassembled and in the carrier, out of view.

The third shows a mounted Vickers MMG. This gun could be--and frequently was--fired from the carrier but the increased vibration made it less accurate (which in game terms equates to a shorter range when mounted).

The fourth shows a mounted 3" mortar. While this mortar could be fired from the carrier, this wasn't normally done (and isn't allowed in the game) because it tended to wreck the transmission.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Yomtov
United States
San Jose
California
flag msg tools
mb
duckweed wrote:
Quote:
The silhouettes are the same.

The fourth shows a mounted 3" mortar. While this mortar could be fired from the carrier, this wasn't normally done (and isn't allowed in the game) because it tended to wreck the transmission.


If this is the case, then why does this unit have a RAS while mounted?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Mokszycki
United States
Snohomish
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The RAS of 3 with a range of 2 hexes is from the Bren LMGs mounted on the carriers (six LMGs per mortar platoon).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.