$20.00
$15.00
$5.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: I only used 2 actions every generation!!! Argh!! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
René Buch
Germany
Osburg
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I was wondering what I am doing wrong solo using only 2 actions every generation.
It should be clearer in the rule book. At least in the German one.
I even wanted to sell it due to frustration
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Berent
United States
South Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Don't feel too bad --- I've been getting feedback that this is actually a somewhat common error, and not just in German.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Buchanan
Canada
flag msg tools
mb
Page 8 of the rulebook ...

3) Action phase (see page 9)
Players take 1 or 2 actions each turn, or pass. Play
proceeds clockwise around the table until all players have
passed. The actions may be combined in any way the player
chooses. The available actions are:

A) Play a card from your hand (see page 9).
B) Use a standard project (see page 10).
C) Claim a milestone (see page 10).
D) Fund an award (page 11).
E) Use the action on a blue card (see page 11).
F) Convert 8 plants into a greenery tile (which gives an oxygen
increase) as described on the player board (see page 11).
G) Convert 8 heat into a temperature increase as described
on the player board (see page 11).

You can choose to take 1 or 2 actions on your
turn. If you take no action at all (pass), you are out of
the round and may not take any anymore actions this
generation. When everyone has passed, the action phase
ends.
8 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Reuter
Germany
NRW
flag msg tools
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Bill.
One can not quote that rule often enough. Its the same in the German rules.

Hint:
If you stumble with any rules just give the corresponding example a quick read. Its on the same page and shows the more than 2 actions per generation done right
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike L
United States
Tiverton
RI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
WBuchanan wrote:
Page 8 of the rulebook ...

3) Action phase (see page 9)
Players take 1 or 2 actions each turn, or pass. Play
proceeds clockwise around the table until all players have
passed. The actions may be combined in any way the player
chooses. The available actions are:

A) Play a card from your hand (see page 9).
B) Use a standard project (see page 10).
C) Claim a milestone (see page 10).
D) Fund an award (page 11).
E) Use the action on a blue card (see page 11).
F) Convert 8 plants into a greenery tile (which gives an oxygen
increase) as described on the player board (see page 11).
G) Convert 8 heat into a temperature increase as described
on the player board (see page 11).

You can choose to take 1 or 2 actions on your
turn. If you take no action at all (pass), you are out of
the round and may not take any anymore actions this
generation. When everyone has passed, the action phase
ends.



Somehow my first game last night I missed part of that rule. My wife and I were only taking 2 actions a generation as well. We were stockpiling so many resources we gave up on the production phase towards the end of the game!

After our game we discussed and found out how badly we were screwing up. I'm really excited for this game tonight as we play it CORRECTLY!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amanda Grogan
United States
Muncie
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
mikester9809 wrote:
WBuchanan wrote:
Page 8 of the rulebook ...

3) Action phase (see page 9)
Players take 1 or 2 actions each turn, or pass. Play
proceeds clockwise around the table until all players have
passed. The actions may be combined in any way the player
chooses. The available actions are:

A) Play a card from your hand (see page 9).
B) Use a standard project (see page 10).
C) Claim a milestone (see page 10).
D) Fund an award (page 11).
E) Use the action on a blue card (see page 11).
F) Convert 8 plants into a greenery tile (which gives an oxygen
increase) as described on the player board (see page 11).
G) Convert 8 heat into a temperature increase as described
on the player board (see page 11).

You can choose to take 1 or 2 actions on your
turn. If you take no action at all (pass), you are out of
the round and may not take any anymore actions this
generation. When everyone has passed, the action phase
ends.



Somehow my first game last night I missed part of that rule. My wife and I were only taking 2 actions a generation as well. We were stockpiling so many resources we gave up on the production phase towards the end of the game!

After our game we discussed and found out how badly we were screwing up. I'm really excited for this game tonight as we play it CORRECTLY!


I got on here looking for answers because my husband and I had this EXACT problem when we played our first game yesterday. We played two actions each every generation and by the end, we had so many resources, production became a chore and we ran out of cubes... I can't believe I missed that rule! We were ready to trade our copy but now we'll probably give it another go. Thanks for clearing this up!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike L
United States
Tiverton
RI
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Amanda, the game is MUCH better when played correctly. I really enjoyed my second play of this with the corrected rule.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.