Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Kemet» Forums » Rules

Subject: Picking up troops. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nick Welford
United Kingdom
Scarborough
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi had a great first play and only one question arose

A player had a four unit troop outside his city and a two unit troop with a creature with movement bonus inside his city. He wanted to move two spaces and pick up units on the way. Is this allowed since technically as soon as he left the city there was six units in one space even though they were passing through?

Thanks

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Cohn
United States
Racine
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This statement, or something nearly like it, occurs in the rulebook more than once: (page 2 and again page 5, English rules)

"Important! One troop can’t contain more than 5 units. That is to say, one player can never have more than 5 units on the same space."

That said, the player could have moved split his troops one of two ways.

A) The four-unit troop could have split apart, 1 unit and 3 units, and either could have moved and "picked up" the two-unit + creature troops.

Or

B) The reverse, the two-unit + creature troop could have split, taking one unit + creature to "pick up" the four-unit troop.

So long as one of those was done, it would have been legal. But unless they also controlled the blue-tile "7 troops per unit", then no, at no time could any one single space have been occupied by the four-unit troop combined with the two-unit + creature troop . That would make that space then contain six units, which is not a legal move.

Hope that makes sense!
~Steve
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Niko J
Finland
Turku
flag msg tools
A word about timing. You pick a troop to move and then calculate it's movement value (monster bonuses etc.). You can't change its movement value for rest of this action. Meaning if you activated your non-monster troop (default move 1) and moved to pick up a monster that gave additional moves you would get no benefits as movement value was already calculated for that march action.

See this thread for clarification:

https://boardgamegeek.com/article/22413470#22413470
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Welford
United Kingdom
Scarborough
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OchreOgre wrote:
This statement, or something nearly like it, occurs in the rulebook more than once: (page 2 and again page 5, English rules)

"Important! One troop can’t contain more than 5 units. That is to say, one player can never have more than 5 units on the same space."

That said, the player could have moved split his troops one of two ways.

A) The four-unit troop could have split apart, 1 unit and 3 units, and either could have moved and "picked up" the two-unit + creature troops.

Or

B) The reverse, the two-unit + creature troop could have split, taking one unit + creature to "pick up" the four-unit troop.

So long as one of those was done, it would have been legal. But unless they also controlled the blue-tile "7 troops per unit", then no, at no time could any one single space have been occupied by the four-unit troop combined with the two-unit + creature troop . That would make that space then contain six units, which is not a legal move.

Hope that makes sense!
~Steve



Thanks Steve makes perfect sense. I should have worked it out at the time. I just knew something felt a bit off!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Cohn
United States
Racine
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Happy to help, and kudos to Nekku about the timing rules, also very important to consider when contemplating a split-then-move or move-and-split action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Welford
United Kingdom
Scarborough
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Funnily enough I was ok with that one!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.