Judd Vance
United States
WICHITA
Kansas
flag msg tools
Every Man a (K-State) Wildcat!
badge
"Just get that sucka to the designated place at the designated time and I will gladly designate his ass...for dismemberment!" - Sho Nuff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This game has been an obsession. Between playing it all the time and building the Vassal module, I got really good at the campaign game set up. So when I was setting up the Overlord scenario, I saw a few things that didn't look right. Hopefully, Mike can confirm this and it will help new folks to the game.



(Error) Removed Cards: When I added up the units in the initial campaign game and those in the Overlord scenario, I noticed that the Axis had one additional Panzer Corps and one additional SS Corps in Overlord. That means they would have had to have played the Axis #18 card shown.

Additionally, the Overlord setup shows the Allies have conquered 7 hexes in Italy. That triggers Italian Surrender, which removes all Italian units from the board. This is also evidenced by the Axis having Italian Disarmament and Eiche in the removed pile, which can only be played after Italian Surrender occurs. The only way to bring Italian Corps units back on the map is through the play of the Italian Socialist Republic (Axis #21), shown above. Because there is an Italian Corps on Milan, the card has been played and should therefore, also be in the removed pile.


(Update) Event Markers: Based on the events in the removed pile, the event markers shown in the picture above should be on the board. The reason I show the Orders From Berlin -1 VP marker along with the -1 VP sides showing for Disaster in the Balkans and Mincemeat, are because that is how you arrive at the starting VP value in this game. I figured the Axis succeeded at meeting the requirements of Disaster in the East, since the SS Panzer Corps begins the game in the Eastern Front box.

The 3 markers shown above the cards and off the map have no ongoing effects, so they could be removed at the player's choice.

Additionally, Argument is not shown because it has a special holding place on the map. It should be there.

I like to place the markers on the board if they have a VP value on them, so I can check my VPs (in case the map gets bumped or I get forgetful) and the markers with ongoing effects are helpful for knowing if you can play a card later in the game.




(Update) Markers not listed in the setup: Of the markers not listed in the setup, these should be set aside and placed in the "rebuild" pile. You can bring these units back by spending replacement points.

They are:
British Corps x 3
U.S. Corps x 2
All Italian Corps apart from the one that begins on the map.
3 German Infantry Corps
1 German Airborne Corps


Additionally, these units should be placed in the "permanently removed" pile:

All Italian Armies
German fortresses: Cassino, Pescara

All other units not in the initial set-up should be placed to the side. They are brought in through the play of reinforcement cards.


Hope that helps. Good hunting!
5 
 Thumb up
0.50
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Axis Reinforcements card #18 has, indeed, been played.

Italian Social Republic card #21 has, indeed, been played.

The "Argument" marker should be in its holding box on the map, correct.

Italian armies and the German fortress units that are located in Italy are permanently eliminated due to Italian surrender and the lose of certain hexes, correct.

Units not mentioned in the opening setup, but not actually brought into play by events not yet played are treated as eliminated, correct.

I'd have to punch counters and setup an actual game to get at the marker questions you're raising. As long as you start with the VP markers placed as instructed the "cause" of the beginning VP total is not incredibly important. You just need to remember the starting number.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Judd Vance
United States
WICHITA
Kansas
flag msg tools
Every Man a (K-State) Wildcat!
badge
"Just get that sucka to the designated place at the designated time and I will gladly designate his ass...for dismemberment!" - Sho Nuff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One more discovery:

The La Rochelle fortress should be set up at full strength in the La Rochelle hex.

The easy way to handle the fortresses:
Remove Cassino, Pescara, and Alpenfestung.
Place all others on the map at full strength except Berlin, which is at reduced strength.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Rinella
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Check my "known errata/clarifications" thread. The La Rochelle thing was noted a few days ago.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Judd Vance
United States
WICHITA
Kansas
flag msg tools
Every Man a (K-State) Wildcat!
badge
"Just get that sucka to the designated place at the designated time and I will gladly designate his ass...for dismemberment!" - Sho Nuff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahhh...

I also missed that you listed the event markers on the setup.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.