Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Grand Austria Hotel» Forums » Rules

Subject: Noob Questions About GAH rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Spudkitty

Idaho
msg tools
mbmbmb
I just bought GAH and have some questions for which the instructions are unclear ...

First, if you use the '6' die and choose one of the other five actions, do you put the '6' die on your turn card or the die from the action category you choose to use the '6' die on?

Second, when you are dealt the 6 staff cards are they free to use, or do you have to pay their fee in order to use them?

Third, when you use a staff card to gain food and/or drink, does it go to the kitchen, or can you put it directly on a guest card?

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Kitty
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Kendrick
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Spudkitty wrote:
First, if you use the '6' die and choose one of the other five actions, do you put the '6' die on your turn card or the die from the action category you choose to use the '6' die on?


You take the 6.

Quote:
Second, when you are dealt the 6 staff cards are they free to use, or do you have to pay their fee in order to use them?


Generally you pay for them and play them with a 5 die action. But there are guest bonuses that can help you play them, too.

Quote:
Third, when you use a staff card to gain food and/or drink, does it go to the kitchen, or can you put it directly on a guest card?


Any time you take food (for any reason) you can always put it directly on a guest card if there is one in your cafe that will take it.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Hendrickson
United States
Seward
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Regarding your second question, you pay the cost of the staff card to "hire" them when you take the 5 die action. Some of them give you an immediate, one-time bonus when you hir them. Some only give you end-game scoring. And some give you an ability to use throughout the game. You should not ever have to pay the hiring fee again; that it a one-time cost.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Funk
United States
Springfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also to note, that when you pick a 6 die, you use the effect of another number, but you use the number of the dice in the 6 space for the number of benefit.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.