$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Dragon & Flagon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Riposte Timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chad Taylor
United States
Darien
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, I'm soloing the Paladin and Cleric against the Mage and the Swashbuckler, and the Mage saw the Cleric coming her way and set up for a Riposte. Sure enough, the Cleric had a Slash ready to go.

Now, as I understand it, you take the card in slot I after finishing it. Riposte Dazes the character for two, and the Cleric has already programmed her next turn's action, of course.

So, the question is: Has the Slash card in the first slot finished triggering when the Riposte hits? In other words, is that first spot clear by the time the character is Dazed? Or does that first spot only clear after everything happens?

I'm assuming Slash fizzles out, goes away, then Riposte happens, since otherwise, you'd probably never get to fill the two spaces of Daze that happens.

Follow up: The Attack doesn't happen, but it's not a Cancel, right? So it takes the normal amount of time on the Time Track, correct?

Absolutely loving this game, by the way. It hits the nostalgia button for Swashbuckler just right, but is much easier to play. Watching the story of this battle unfold has just been incredible. So many fantastic, hilarious, and awesome things have happened!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoffrey Engelstein
United States
Bridgewater
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
The Fog of War! Available now!
badge
Ludology Host and Dice Tower Contributor
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure I'm totally understanding your question, but I'll take a stab at it (pun intended).

Riposte, like all cards with a Duration, stay out on the table until they expire.

Also, you can't reveal Riposte to stop a Slash (or something else) just because it's in your #1 slot. It needs to have happened before.

So the sequence is this:

Character who has Riposte planned (let's say Mage) gets their action. They reveal Riposte, and decide if they want it to last 1, 2, or 3 time. The Riposte card is left face up.

Cleric token is now selected, and she reveals Slash. Riposte stops Slash from happening. The Cleric's card in the #2 slot slides down to #1 right away, so she would need to plan actions in 2 and 3, as well as give the Reputation. Time cost is still 2 - it's not cancelled.

Riposte stays up and active until Mage takes her next action.

Let's rewind and look at it another way.

Mage has Riposte planned (but still face down) and Cleric has Slash. If Cleric gets the first action, and reveals Slash, it still works as normal. Mage is not yet Riposting.

Hope this helps! Glad you're enjoying the game!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad Taylor
United States
Darien
Connecticut
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
engelstein wrote:
I'm not sure I'm totally understanding your question, but I'll take a stab at it (pun intended).

Riposte, like all cards with a Duration, stay out on the table until they expire.

Also, you can't reveal Riposte to stop a Slash (or something else) just because it's in your #1 slot. It needs to have happened before.

So the sequence is this:

Character who has Riposte planned (let's say Mage) gets their action. They reveal Riposte, and decide if they want it to last 1, 2, or 3 time. The Riposte card is left face up.

Cleric token is now selected, and she reveals Slash. Riposte stops Slash from happening. The Cleric's card in the #2 slot slides down to #1 right away, so she would need to plan actions in 2 and 3, as well as give the Reputation. Time cost is still 2 - it's not cancelled.

Riposte stays up and active until Mage takes her next action.

Let's rewind and look at it another way.

Mage has Riposte planned (but still face down) and Cleric has Slash. If Cleric gets the first action, and reveals Slash, it still works as normal. Mage is not yet Riposting.

Hope this helps! Glad you're enjoying the game!


Yeah, my questions weren't about what happens with Riposte, as I knew that was a timed card and once it got played it stayed to the side, in play until the character activated again. They were about that card in the first slot on the attacking player's board (Slash, in this case). None, the less, you answered the questions with the stuff I put in bold. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.