Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Defenders of the Last Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: Midnight Pearl vs. Earthers + Non-Yellow Raiders rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Midnight Pearl's Deadly Blades skill allows her to roll one extra die when attacking Raiders. If she's attacking multiple Raider types, she chooses the color of the die.

Earthers' Blessed People ability prevents Rangers from using skills or Special cards when fighting them.

So, it seems pretty clear that if Midnight Pearl attacks a location where Earthers are the only Raiders present, she cannot roll the extra die.

But what if Earthers are there along with one or more other Raider types? Can she roll an extra non-yellow die, based on the other Raider(s) present?

Follow-up question: If the answer above is "no" and Midnight Pearl cannot roll any extra dice (even non-yellow) dice when Raiders are part of the attack, does she have the option of only attacking the non-yellow Raiders at the location? (For instance, if there are two Earthers and a Techie at the location, could she just attack the Techie, rolling two dice -- one for the Techie itself and one from her skill?)

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Knepper
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You get to decide what color the extra die is, so you can pick blue, green, or red.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aging One wrote:
You get to decide what color the extra die is, so you can pick blue, green, or red.


OK, thanks. The Earthers rules make it sound like you cannot use the power at all when Earthers are involved in the fight (even if you choose another color). That makes it a little easier
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nenad Jankovic
Macedonia
Skopje
flag msg tools
Aging One wrote:
You get to decide what color the extra die is, so you can pick blue, green, or red.


Are you sure about this ? As its not stated anywhere in the rules. I just wrote a PM to Richard about this same problem. Thing is, when you are attacking a land, you are attacking all enemies there, not only 1 type of, no? You roll all dice together , with the appropriate colors but all together and then you see what died or survived. Cause, if u can battle only one type of mobs on that land, then logically, u get wounds only by 1 type as well, which is not the case i.e u get wounded for ALL mobs on the field...

p.s same goes for the Air Attack adjacent fields, I presume you cant attack an adjacent field which have yellow type since that's a skill and u cant use skills on them ..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Knepper
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Xanidrar wrote:
Aging One wrote:
You get to decide what color the extra die is, so you can pick blue, green, or red.


Are you sure about this ? As its not stated anywhere in the rules. I just wrote a PM to Richard about this same problem. Thing is, when you are attacking a land, you are attacking all enemies there, not only 1 type of, no? You roll all dice together , with the appropriate colors but all together and then you see what died or survived. Cause, if u can battle only one type of mobs on that land, then logically, u get wounds only by 1 type as well, which is not the case i.e u get wounded for ALL mobs on the field...

p.s same goes for the Air Attack adjacent fields, I presume you cant attack an adjacent field which have yellow type since that's a skill and u cant use skills on them ..


If there are multiple raider tribes [colors] in one location, you get to determine the tribe [color] of the extra die, with the exception of Earthers [yellow]. You could not choose yellow for the color of the extra die.

The Earther restriction, however, only applies to Earther raiders, i.e., it cancels the skill's use against Earthers, but not does not cancel the skill's use against the other raiders [red/green/blue] in the same location.

I have demoed more than two dozen games of Defenders of the Last Stand for 8th Summit at their events. So, yes, I'm sure.

nb: doesn't mean I won't be overruled!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brett F
United States
Oklahoma City
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Aging One wrote:
Xanidrar wrote:
Aging One wrote:
You get to decide what color the extra die is, so you can pick blue, green, or red.


Are you sure about this ? As its not stated anywhere in the rules. I just wrote a PM to Richard about this same problem. Thing is, when you are attacking a land, you are attacking all enemies there, not only 1 type of, no? You roll all dice together , with the appropriate colors but all together and then you see what died or survived. Cause, if u can battle only one type of mobs on that land, then logically, u get wounds only by 1 type as well, which is not the case i.e u get wounded for ALL mobs on the field...

p.s same goes for the Air Attack adjacent fields, I presume you cant attack an adjacent field which have yellow type since that's a skill and u cant use skills on them ..


If there are multiple raider tribes [colors] in one location, you get to determine the tribe [color] of the extra die, with the exception of Earthers [yellow]. You could not choose yellow for the color of the extra die.

The Earther restriction, however, only applies to Earther raiders, i.e., it cancels the skill's use against Earthers, but not does not cancel the skill's use against the other raiders [red/green/blue] in the same location.

I have demoed more than two dozen games of Defenders of the Last Stand for 8th Summit at their events. So, yes, I'm sure.

nb: doesn't mean I won't be overruled!


From what I can tell blue is not considered a Raider. The rule book speaks of them as not being one and the same, page 5 Raider Cards: "They place enemy Raiders and Monstrosities, move Leaders, and activate Events."

They specifically did not include Monstrosities as Raiders, thus it seems to me that blue would not qualify as well. Not to mention the version I have specifically says on the card that 'Deadly Blades' does not apply to Monstrosities and Leaders. So basically the skill only applies to red and green.
2 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.