Michal Kostan
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
British units in hex A assault hex B and eliminate the German infantry platoon. The German Pz IV platoon withdraws to hex D (per 12.1.1), which is then assaulted from hex C.


1) Before the Sherman troop in hex A advances to B as a result of the assault, is it allowed to reaction fire on the Pz IV unit as it withdraws from B to D?

2) When the British units in hex C assault hex D (now also containing the Pz IV platoon), does the Pz IV unit contribute its CS normally to hex D's defense?

--

It is the British action phase of a day turn with unlimited LOS. The reduced British infantry company is not adjacent to any enemy unit and attempts recovery. The German MG platoon has LOS to its hex, but cannot see the British unit due to concealment.


3) Is the British company entitled to the +1 DRM on the recovery table (modifier for condition No. 3)?

Thank you very much!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cole Dano
Finland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I'm sure Mark will reply, but answering helps me as much as you, let's see if these are right.

1) No, the movement trigger refers to the hex being moved into, not the hex being exited.

Sherman's in C could reaction fire, but then they wouldn't be able to participate in the assault as they would be rotated 90 degrees due to reacting.

2) Since it's a voluntary withdrawal the Pz would be able to contribute to the hexes defence.

3) Yes the modifier would apply.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Mokszycki
United States
Snohomish
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Cole is correct on all three counts. Nice job!

1) Since the Panzer moved into a woods hex, and woods blocks LOS and offers concealment (even from higher ground), the Sherman has no LOS to the Panzer's new hex.

2) The Panzer contributes its CS to the defense of the hex normally because it did not retreat.

3) Yes, the recovering unit qualifies for the +1 DRM. Note that "it" (in condition #3 under the Recovery Table) refers to the unit attempting recovery, not the hex. If the unit is concealed there is no LOS to the unit.

That case probably could have been worded better since LOS normally means tracing to a hex, not a unit.

You're welcome! And thanks for your help, Cole.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michal Kostan
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mark and Cole, many thanks for your quick replies, they helped a lot!

It brings me to one more question regarding LOS. In the first picture, is hex D considered to be at a lower elevation than hex A or are they at the same level?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Mokszycki
United States
Snohomish
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Elevation is relative and depends on whether LOS is specifically traced across one or more slope hexsides. In this case, hex A would be at higher elevation than hex D because LOS has to be traced through the non-blocking field hex (1007) and therefore across a slope hexside.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michal Kostan
Czech Republic
Prague
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it! Thanks as always, Mark.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.