Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Riichi Mahjong» Forums » Rules

Subject: Why can't I call Riichi with this hand? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Discard 5 dots.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Brown
United States
Gorham
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You're sure that you're not in furiten?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kai Heikkilä
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Auricle wrote:
You're sure that you're not in furiten?


I think calling riichi in furiten is almost always allowed. Maybe there are less than 4 tiles left in the wall?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You might be right, Kai. Here's a more full capture. The wall has exactly 4 tiles left.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kai Heikkilä
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are actually only 3 tiles left in the wall because of the kan declaration that one of your opponents has made. So that's the reason. The rule is that you can't declare riichi if you won't be able to draw again (i.e. if there are less than 4 tiles left in the wall).
5 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nice catch. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Kundlak
Slovakia
Bratislava
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh man... makes me jealous I can't play Mahjong...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.