$15.00
$5.00
$30.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Vast: The Crystal Caverns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Knight: Multiple Attacks & Cave: Placing Tiles and Treasure rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan Er
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Two quick questions

Knight
The knight rules state that during collapse, you do not need a bomb but can still only Attack once per turn. But the dragon rules state beware, once dragon surfaced or cave collapse the knight no longer needs bombs to attack you and can spend multiple encounters to attack you multiple times

So which is true? I know once surfaced, dragon may be attacked multiple times, but once collapse begins, is the arrack a once per turn or multiple times?

Cave
The cave turn structure is collect omens, shape cave, then place treasure
During shape cave, only one tile is added right? And if you have a crystal it must be a crystal tile. For more tiles to be added, hatred must be used? As for treasure, it's one free placement on a dark tile, then further placements must be using past plunder?


As an aside, is the cave example in the rules wrong?
The cave turn seems to be doing the turn out of order
Collect omens, place treasure, shape cave. And it brought over 1 less omen token?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fenton
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Jion wrote:
Knight
The knight rules state that during collapse, you do not need a bomb but can still only Attack once per turn. But the dragon rules state beware, once dragon surfaced or cave collapse the knight no longer needs bombs to attack you and can spend multiple encounters to attack you multiple times

So which is true? I know once surfaced, dragon may be attacked multiple times, but once collapse begins, is the arrack a once per turn or multiple times?

Once the collapse begins, if the Dragon is underground it can be attacked 1/turn without the bomb. Once it surfaces (either before or after the collapse), it can be attacked multiple times without the bomb.

Quote:
During shape cave, only one tile is added right? And if you have a crystal it must be a crystal tile. For more tiles to be added, hatred must be used? As for treasure, it's one free placement on a dark tile, then further placements must be using past plunder?

Yes. Any additional tile placement/removal using Hatred follow the same rules as Shape the Cave (more important in the removal portion). Crystal tiles must be placed first during any part of the Cave's turn, whether placed by "Shape the Cave", "Hatred", or by simply rotating a tile to expose edges. During other player's turns, any tile may be played.

Quote:
As an aside, is the cave example in the rules wrong?
The cave turn seems to be doing the turn out of order
Collect omens, place treasure, shape cave. And it brought over 1 less omen token?

The omen thing is an error. Technically it is also performing the turn out of order, though unless the treasure is being placed on the new tile it really doesn't matter.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wayne L
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
dsdhornet wrote:
Jion wrote:
Knight
The knight rules state that during collapse, you do not need a bomb but can still only Attack once per turn. But the dragon rules state beware, once dragon surfaced or cave collapse the knight no longer needs bombs to attack you and can spend multiple encounters to attack you multiple times

So which is true? I know once surfaced, dragon may be attacked multiple times, but once collapse begins, is the arrack a once per turn or multiple times?

Once the collapse begins, if the Dragon is underground it can be attacked 1/turn without the bomb. Once it surfaces (either before or after the collapse), it can be attacked multiple times without the bomb.


I think ive been playing wrong for attacking after collapse. Just to get this straight:

Before collapse or surfacing: 1 attack/turn with Bomb only

After collapse before surfacing: 1 attack/turn without needing to use bomb action

After collpase after surfacing: Multiple attacks/turn without bomb (but using multiple encounters to attack)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
neko flying
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Before collapse or and before surfacing: 1 attack/turn with Bomb only

After collapse but before surfacing: 1 attack/turn without needing to use bomb action

After collapse After surfacing: Multiple attacks/turn without bomb (but using multiple encounters to attack)


Fixed two errors. To attack multiple times without a bomb, it is enough that the Dragon has surfaced. It does not matter if the Cave is already collapsing or not.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Er
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
Thanks all
That was really helpful

The rule book is unfortunately a bit messy at spots

I hope to get this played soon! Looking forward to it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.