$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Trek: Frontiers» Forums » Rules

Subject: Disruptors ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bertrand Guillou-Keredan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
“My troops may fail to take a position, but are never driven from one!”
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi
To be sure :
Assume a combat vs 3 multiple ennemies. One of them have a disruptors offensive (All shields are halved when blocking an enemy with this ability).
Even if i block his attack , my defense is however halved (i.e. 3 ->1) when i assign damage from the 2 others units ?

thx
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Shields and defense are different things.

Disruptors only affect shields, but have no effect on defense, so your defense of 3 will remain 3 regardless of whether you fully block a disruptor attack or not.

Player shields are like enemy resistances, player defense is like enemy defense.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance Kickstarter - February 2017
mbmbmbmbmb
To add to Rus's clarification, it is also important to realize that you block each enemy with Shields separately. So therefore your Shields will not be halved against the other two enemies.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bertrand Guillou-Keredan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
“My troops may fail to take a position, but are never driven from one!”
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, i think i get it now.

Thx
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bertrand Guillou-Keredan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
“My troops may fail to take a position, but are never driven from one!”
mbmbmbmbmb
Assume an Attack of 3, with Photon Pulse Attack and Energy Dissipator.

To deflect all damages, i could, therefore play :

6 Photon or Pulse Torpedo shields.

or

4 Photon/Pulse Shields + 4 Shields.

or

12 Shields

Is that ok ?

Thx


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think when you say "photon shields", you mean "photon pulse shields". (If you'd like to use a shorthand, drop the word "photon" from everything, that simplifies things the right way.) Also, I think by "damage", you mean "attack" (this semantic distinction is irrelevant here, but is important in other cases).

That said, the rules say "when applying Disruptor penalties to both inefficient and efficient Shields, calculate the inefficient Shields, then divide by 4 (round down), and then add that total to the value of the efficient Shields, divided by 2 (round down)."

Applying that formula to your examples, all three of them block the attack.

However, note that rounding takes place before adding, so some examples in-between your sequence only block 2.

6 efficient shields + 0 inefficient: blocks 3
5 efficient shields + 2 inefficient: blocks 2
4 efficient shields + 4 inefficient: blocks 3
3 efficient shields + 6 inefficient: blocks 2
2 efficient shields + 8 inefficient: blocks 3
1 efficient shield +10 inefficient: blocks 2
0 Efficient shields +12 inefficient: blocks 3

[Edit: not sure if this consequence of rounding order was in fact intended. Was always wondering about that, actually.]
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Parks
United States
Somerset
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Quixotic Games: www.quixoticgames.com
badge
Dungeon Alliance Kickstarter - February 2017
mbmbmbmbmb
BertGK wrote:
Assume an Attack of 3, with Photon Pulse Attack and Energy Dissipator.

To deflect all damages, i could, therefore play :

6 Photon or Pulse Torpedo shields.

or

4 Photon/Pulse Shields + 4 Shields.

or

12 Shields

Is that ok ?

Thx




I assume you mean "Disruptors" and not "Energy Dissipator", in which case the answer is "yes".
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bertrand Guillou-Keredan
France
Nantes
flag msg tools
“My troops may fail to take a position, but are never driven from one!”
mbmbmbmbmb
rbelikov wrote:
I think when you say "photon shields", you mean "photon pulse shields"... Also, I think by "damage", you mean "attack"


Andrew Parks wrote:

I assume you mean "Disruptors" and not "Energy Dissipator", in which case the answer is "yes".


Yes i was mistaken.

Thanks all !

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.