Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

MBT (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: TR: Under Armor Transport & Combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adrian Hague
United Kingdom
Bristol
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
RAWKET LAWNCHA!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On the General Information Bar of certain Vehicle Data Cards, the Transport rating can be marked as Under Armor Transport or Under Armor Transport & Combat (e.g. SM-6B BTR-70).

I understand the benefits of Under Armor (e.g. protection from GP fire targeting transporting unit), but I can't seem to find any reference to the '& Combat' portion. What specifically are the benefits of Under Armor for combat?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Russo
United States
flag msg tools
Under Armor Transport & Combat
Looking through the data cards those are vehicles with firing ports for the transported infantry, Soviet BMP's, BTR's and the US M-2 Bradley (and upcoming FRG Marder).

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/cc/BMP-1_fi...

Which begs the question about the US M113, it is classified as Under Armor Transport only, can the in-game transported infantry squad fire if the vehicle is unbuttoned (large top hatch open)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Day
United States
Ellicott City
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ardennes4412 wrote:
Which begs the question about the US M113, it is classified as Under Armor Transport only, can the in-game transported infantry squad fire if the vehicle is unbuttoned (large top hatch open)?

Yes, it's called transported fire in MBT.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. B.
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
For all I know there is no rule about a difference between "Under Armor Transport" and "Under Armor Transport & Combat". Maybe a rule to differentiate between the two kinds of cover was forgotten.

According to the rules infantry may utilize Direct GP Fire while transported, except from helicopters (see 6.6.7.2 on p. 42).

It doesn't matter whether the vehicle is "Under Cover Transport", "Under Armor Transport" or "Under Armor Transport & Combat". Except from helicopters a passenger is allowed to attack according to 6.6.7.2.

It doesn't matter too whether the Turret is Open or Buttoned Up (see 7.8.3 on p. 60). The passenger is allowed to attack anyway.

Passengers firing from "Under Armor" vehicles are limited to a range of 2 hexes (see 6.6.7.2 on p. 42) and they will be not attacked when the vehicle will be attacked by GP Fire (see 6.5.4.2.3 on p. 30). But if this is true for "Under Armor Transport" and "Under Armor Transport & Combat", we don't know.

The designer has to step in here.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. B.
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Jim, can You give us an answer here please.

What is the difference between "Under Armor Transport" and "Under Armor Transport & Combat"?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Hague
United Kingdom
Bristol
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
RAWKET LAWNCHA!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Answer here: https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1644718/under-armor-com...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.