$30.00
Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Jena 20» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreating through friendly occupied hex, attacking fortified hex rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yani
Switzerland
Zürich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is a special case. You have only 2 options to retreat:

A) through an EZOC in the direction of friendly LOC
B) through a friendly occupied hex away from friendly LOC (that could subsequently, if routing, allow you to swerve towards friendly LOC

Which take precedence?

Also, a 2nd question. I understand it is optional to attack out of a fort (and that if you choose to you must attack all adjacent enemy units), but what about attacking into one? I presume it should be mandatory since as an attacker you are in the fort's EZOC.

Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
coralsaw wrote:
You have only 2 options to retreat:
A) through an EZOC in the direction of friendly LOC
B) through a friendly occupied hex away from friendly LOC (that could subsequently, if routing, allow you to swerve towards friendly LOC
Which take precedence?


Per rule [9.7.6]: "If no other route is available, a Retreating unit may move through friendly-occupied hexes."
(color highlight mine, for emphasis)

The key point here is that retreating through friendly occupied hexes is always the last possible alternative for a retreat; essentially there has to be no other possible direction for the unit to go.

coralsaw wrote:
I understand it is optional to attack out of a fort (and that if you choose to you must attack all adjacent enemy units), but what about attacking into one? I presume it should be mandatory since as an attacker you are in the fort's EZOC.


Correct. Units inside a fort/redoubt can choose to ignore adjacent enemy units (their ZOCs don't extend into the fort/redoubt). However, the reverse is not true: the ZOC of the unit inside the fort/redoubt still extends out of the hex, which in turn compels the units outside to attack the fort/redoubt's defender.

Hope that clears up the confusion.

Lance McMillan
Developer for VPG's "Napoleonic 20" series
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yani
Switzerland
Zürich
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Lance, I appreciate your help and explanation. All clear now.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.