Popular Tags: [View All]
Ray
United States
Carpentersville
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
A thought occurs to me. We have seen discussions about mixing Cthulhu wars and The Gods war. But what about mixing Runequest and the Gods War?

In particular if I wanted to create characters that follow or worship each of the 8 pantheons in The Gods War which deities have character following rules fully fleshed out for and which do not? (I understand RPGs do not occur in this age. Are some of these empires no longer worshipped?) Also what rpg books or products are needed? This is a complex or large question, but I have faith some of you are up to the task. The Glorantha community is amazing. Thank you!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Couzens
Australia
East Brisbane
Queensland
flag msg tools
mb
I can provide my 2 cents based on my Runequest 3rd edition experience and use of the supplements (I'm not an expert by any means, so maybe others can give more complete answers). I'll touch on each Empire one by one I guess. Just note that Runequest is set in the 3rd age, and you wouldn't use the Gods War as the main setting for a campaign (though you could definitely include heroquesting that sends your players into that mythic time).

Storm

Orlanth is the cult to worship here, and is often suggested as a kind of 'default adventurer' cult. A good supplement, as far as I know, would be Cults of Prax (actually, that's the best choice of supplement for most of the factions). Griffin Mountain might also have stuff on Orlanth.

Sky

You could generate a Yelm-worshipper, though the sky pantheon is fairly extensive. If you have Cults of Prax, it includes a write-up on Yelmalio, which would be another option.

Darkness

Easy: get your hands on the Trollpak. This supplement will give you everything you need to create a troll character, which is what you'd most likely be playing if you are a Darkness-worshipper.

Chaos