Popular Tags: [View All]
gary rembo
United Kingdom
brighton
Alaska
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,
I have played many many war games from ASL to conflict of heroes.
I have absorbed hundreds of rule sets.
But for the life of me I cannot wrap my head around this.
I seem to have a mental block even without the command system.
Is it just me?.
I see the back of the box mocking me (medium complexity) and feel small.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ek T
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I'm fairly new to wargames (a year and a half?) and boardgaming in general and was able to decipher how to play that game. (I also skipped the command rules.) I don't think it's the best rulebook in terms of explaining why or how you do stuff, but I think once you set up a game and start moving stuff around and practicing how spotting works, the game isn't too difficult.

Things make sense somehow. Like, for example, Area Fire versus Point Fire, and how when a squad is on its move side, its easier to spot.

Hope that helps. I actually like the game but was trying to solo it (to learn more about wargaming) and it wasn't working for me. However, I would have loved to play a real live person with the system. Even though it was a IGO-UGO system, I could see how interactive it could be with the spotting/opp fire rules.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Where the heck did this interest in WW1 come from?
badge
Ashwin in thoughtful mood
mb

These videos explain TCS (link included for the first one)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mC-3crGUhGs
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ethan McKinney
United States
El Segundo
California
flag msg tools
badge
Gary, can you hit me with the things that aren't making sense? I hope that there are at least a few things that are working for you! Movement?