$30.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Europa Universalis» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a minor take money rather than provinces in a war victory? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Johns
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey All,

Here's the situation. It's early period III, Poland DoWs Russia (Event III:4 in Risto's rewrites.) England controls neutral Poland (who was not on England's track) and does not enter the war against Russia. (He can't.) Poland takes 5 Russian provinces. They get to peace.

Russia surrenders unconditionally, but with some kind of secret deal England asks for money rather than provinces. Is that allowed?


I ask because in 50.15 (minor peace) it says...

F. Consequences of Peace
If the peace is signed, no Stability level is gained (exception: if this minor declared war to the player by an event). The player that controlled the minor does not earn anything.
If the minor country is the victor, the player that controls the minor country chooses the ceded provinces (if any). He must do so in priority among those located the closest from the minor country’s territory, in terms of movement points (a sea zone “costing” 3 MP for this calculation).

The sticking point may be the phrase "the player that controls the minor country chooses the ceded provinces (if any)." This could be read two ways:

1) It could be referring to if you get a level zero peace, where there is no province transfer.
OR
2) It could be referring to the player controlling the minor can choose to not take provinces, rather taking money.

Which way do you read this?

Thanks,
Jason
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.