$20.00
$5.00
$15.00
$30.00
hall ro
msg tools
Hello all,

I'm completely new to Pathfinder & pretty much rpg games in general and have been watching Tox's great tutorial video on Critshappen. I'm trying to play this game with my family (my wife and triplet 13-yr-old daughters, one of whom has autism). I think my kids would all really get into the game once they learn it (& be gr8 contributers as they LOVE to write stories & draw/create characters) so I'm trying to learn it as best I can in order to reduce the learning curve for them as much as I can. (8 seconds of fumbling w the rules and I know I'll start losing them. Ahh, teenagers.) Also, I started by looking into the PF straight rpg game but it's complicated enuf (and requires a DM) that I thought the card game would be the best way to at least get started on the Pathfinder world.

In watching the video I'm seeing some things that I don't think will work too well in selling the kids on the game and am wondering if anyone has tried revising the game to make it play more "realistically" (IMHO!). This is a BIG factor especially in getting my daughter w autism into the game.

As an example, a big one that sticks out to me is that at first you have four cards randomly drawn from your deck to start a given turn. Tox's character in the video is a paladin (Seelah) and it simply wouldn't make sense to me that she wouldn't have her armor, shield and weapon in hand when exploring a location. But it appears that if you don't happen to draw those cards, she won't have them on that turn. Additionally, the characters can lose even the armor they're wearing in order to represent battle damage. To me, that'd take one giganto wallop for poor Seelah to get her armor knocked right off her in battle.