Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Grand Prix» Forums » Rules

Subject: Elimination rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Harold Coleman
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
7.2 The rule says a car that is eliminated due to being activated with 6 wear markers gets the lowest position marker possible. Eliminated cars couldn't possibly have finished 10th or higher, so why do they get a marker and points?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Horger
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
hgcoleman wrote:
7.2 The rule says a car that is eliminated due to being activated with 6 wear markers gets the lowest position marker possible. Eliminated cars couldn't possibly have finished 10th or higher, so why do they get a marker and points?


Because however remote the possibility, it is a possibility that the rest of the field could be lapped or it could be a rough race and a car could possibly be eliminated and still be in the top 10. We would have been remiss if we did not address it and, however unlikely, it happened.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
mbmbmbmbmb
Jeff Horger wrote:
hgcoleman wrote:
7.2 The rule says a car that is eliminated due to being activated with 6 wear markers gets the lowest position marker possible. Eliminated cars couldn't possibly have finished 10th or higher, so why do they get a marker and points?


Because however remote the possibility, it is a possibility that the rest of the field could be lapped or it could be a rough race and a car could possibly be eliminated and still be in the top 10. We would have been remiss if we did not address it and, however unlikely, it happened.


So, is that a possible tactic, to retire your car to make sure you get a VP marker?

And, wouldn't that suggest, though unlikely and stupid, that a bunch of people would retire cars one after another to scoop up the VP markers?

(Non-player cars grab VP markers if they are in the top ten cars that finish, correct?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When a car is lapped or retired, it takes the lowest position possible. So the first car that is retired/lapped will take 22nd place. The next car retired/lapped will take 21st place, and so on. So if it so happens that at least 12 cars get lapped or retire, than the next one that it happens to will indeed take 10th place and get some points.

It is never a viable tactic to retire on purpose. By retiring, you take the lowest possible spot available. By not retiring, there is a chance you'll get a better position than that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
mbmbmbmbmb
DoomTurtle wrote:
When a car is lapped or retired, it takes the lowest position possible. So the first car that is retired/lapped will take 22nd place. The next car retired/lapped will take 21st place, and so on. So if it so happens that at least 12 cars get lapped or retire, than the next one that it happens to will indeed take 10th place and get some points.

It is never a viable tactic to retire on purpose. By retiring, you take the lowest possible spot available. By not retiring, there is a chance you'll get a better position than that.


DoomTurtle, I hope you are right. Because That's not what it says in the rules. Under 4.3, it says, "Award the retired car a Position Marker if applicable." There are only 10 position markers. So thus you get one of those position markers. (And 10.1.2, clearly states what a Position Marker is, it's essentially VP counter.) So if someone is in a race and they are way behind, they'll just retire the car, and collect one of the coveted 10 Vp Position Markers.


EDIT: OKAY, I see the "...if applicable..." part--so yeah they wouldn't get VPs. That could have been worded better in my opinion.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the wording was a carry over from Thunder Alley, which was the exact same rule, but in that game, every position earned points.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
mbmbmbmbmb
DoomTurtle wrote:
I think the wording was a carry over from Thunder Alley, which was the exact same rule, but in that game, every position earned points.


Thanks for hashing this out with me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.