Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Myth» Forums » Variants

Subject: Making changes to the hero decks - their size/composition and what to discard/draw? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Silsbe
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
First note that I'm still pretty new to the game and haven't played all of the heroes.

So far I've found that a few cards in each deck that I've never played or that I've played maybe once or twice over many sessions.

And given how heroes may play only 1-2 cards in a single round, it's not difficult to basically ignore many weaker or situational cards. It's effectively as though these underperforming cards are simply not part of the deck at all.

This results in fewer interesting choices - choosing between 2 cards instead of 3 or 4, but more shuffling, cycling, drawing, and discarding.

Questions:

Have I just not played enough of the game to realize the utility of some of these cards?

Are there cards in certain hero decks that are widely recognized as underpowered/useless?

Has anyone considered trimming down the decks or even exchanging some of the weaker cards with better / more interesting advanced cards - perhaps reducing the default hand size or adding in some other caveat to mitigate the power increase?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stevie P
United States
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Personally I think the base hero decks play really well. Sometimes you have a card you don't need like a remove curse, cure poison, or the NCA bonus card, but man when you need them you are doing all you can do to cycle your deck. I have played many hours and granted I only have the base heroes and the hunter which I just got and haven't played that one, but I usually come away from the game amazed at how well the hero decks work. I come back to it more often than any other game.