Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Defenders of the Last Stand» Forums » Rules

Subject: What's Yours Is Mines rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Ancient Tech card, What's Yours Is Mines, reads:

BEFORE COMBAT, EACH RANGER MUST FIRST ROLL A D6:

1: Nothing Happens

2-4: Lose 1 Random Defender card and suffer 1 wound.

5-6: Lose 1 random Defender card and suffers 2 wounds.


Do the random defender card(s) you lose on a roll of 2-6 come from your entire hand? Or only from the cards you've committed to battling Krank?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Edmonds
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Do you need more card ideas for the D&D Adventure System games?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is a really good question, as cards committed to combat are no longer part of your hand (they become dice.)

Since the card says "Before Combat" it seems reasonable that you wouldn't have declared any cards that become dice, so your entire hand - including those cards you would have used to fight Krank - are the starting point for selecting a random card. This means you might catch a break and discards something you won't use in the fight against Krank.

This is a bit of a deviation from the Red General in Defenders of the Realm, which requires each hero to roll against the red cards they committed towards fighting the general (supposedly they are mesmerized into pulling their punches.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Launius
United States
Johns Creek
Georgia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


Only from the cards committed to the combat.

Richard
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Richard Launius wrote:


Only from the cards committed to the combat.

Richard

This ruling also implies players must commit their cards first, then reveal Krank's Ancient Tech cards. At least that's how we've been playing it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Edmonds
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Do you need more card ideas for the D&D Adventure System games?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Definitely worth pointing out in the FAQ if it's not already in the rules. Thanks for responding Richard.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.