Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Scythe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreating w/Seaworthy during 2 or more combats. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bård Holst
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2 combats are happening, one in the Factory and one in a lake adjacent to the Factory.
If I loose the combat in the Factory can that Mech (seaworthy) retreat to the lake where the second combat is about to take place? Or does the territory that you retreat to need to be empty of enemy units?
I can't find this mentioned in the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christiaan G
Netherlands
Emmeloord
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's under combat in the rules:

LOSER: The loser must retreat all of their units—mechs,
characters, and workers—from the combat territory to
their home base (pick up those units and put them down on
their home base). All resources those units were carrying
remain on the territory and are now under the control of
the winner. If the loser revealed at least 1 power on the
dial or through combat cards, they gain 1 combat card as
they retreat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MADG0BLIN wrote:
It's under combat in the rules:

LOSER: The loser must retreat all of their units—mechs,
characters, and workers—from the combat territory to
their home base (pick up those units and put them down on
their home base). All resources those units were carrying
remain on the territory and are now under the control of
the winner. If the loser revealed at least 1 power on the
dial or through combat cards, they gain 1 combat card as
they retreat.


This doesn't really answer the question. At least non this alone.
The OP is asking about a specific case that involves both Nordic's Seaworthy and Polania's Submerge abilities.

In the rulebook I find no mention about the need to retreat into a territory without enemy units, not even in the Seaworthy ability description.
In my opinion this means that what you proposed is a valid move, and the new units may provide you the opportunity to play additional combat cards.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phillip McCaughey
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it's answered at the bottom of this thread: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1465166/retreating-and-seaw...

You cannot retreat to a lake where an enemy is.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
filliptoo wrote:
I think it's answered at the bottom of this thread: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1465166/retreating-and-seaw...

You cannot retreat to a lake where an enemy is.


Great! Thank you for the reference.
Ipse dixit trumps personal opinion, in this case.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bård Holst
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
filliptoo wrote:
I think it's answered at the bottom of this thread: https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1465166/retreating-and-seaw...

You cannot retreat to a lake where an enemy is.


You are correct, Jamey confirmed in that thread that you can not retreat into an enemy occupied territory.

Thanks to all for the quick answers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Jamey confirmed in that thread that you can not retreat into an enemy occupied territory."

I confirm that Past Jamey was correct. (that isn't always the case!)
18 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Painkeeper wrote:
MADG0BLIN wrote:
It's under combat in the rules:

LOSER: The loser must retreat all of their units—mechs,
characters, and workers—from the combat territory to
their home base (pick up those units and put them down on
their home base). All resources those units were carrying
remain on the territory and are now under the control of
the winner. If the loser revealed at least 1 power on the
dial or through combat cards, they gain 1 combat card as
they retreat.


This doesn't really answer the question. At least non this alone.
The OP is asking about a specific case that involves both Nordic's Seaworthy and Polania's Submerge abilities.

In the rulebook I find no mention about the need to retreat into a territory without enemy units, not even in the Seaworthy ability description.
In my opinion this means that what you proposed is a valid move, and the new units may provide you the opportunity to play additional combat cards.

Just a nitpicky point. I don't think Polania's Submerge ability allows for retreating onto lakes. Seaworthy specifically notes that you may retreat to lakes, Submerge makes no mentions of retreating.
Submerge rule wrote:
SEAWORTHY: Your character and mechs can move to and from
lakes and retreat onto adjacent lakes (you may still also
retreat those units to your home base). This allows for
lake hexes to be treated the same as other territories for
movement. If a mech transports workers onto a lake (during
a Move action or when retreating) or if a character or mech
transports resources onto a lake, you may not leave those
workers or resources on the lake after moving off of it, nor
may a worker move off of the lake without the assistance of
the mech. Lakes are territories, so if two factions have a lakemovement
ability, it’s possible for combat to happen on a
lake. You cannot build a structure or deploy a mech on a lake.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
claudermilk wrote:
Just a nitpicky point. I don't think Polania's Submerge ability allows for retreating onto lakes. Seaworthy specifically notes that you may retreat to lakes, Submerge makes no mentions of retreating.


Yes. In fact, I never stated that Polania's mechs may retreat into lakes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Painkeeper wrote:

The OP is asking about a specific case that involves both Nordic's Seaworthy and Polania's Submerge abilities.




Not debating your answer--I agree with you. I just wanted to make the clarification since Polania was brought up.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
claudermilk wrote:
Painkeeper wrote:

The OP is asking about a specific case that involves both Nordic's Seaworthy and Polania's Submerge abilities.




Not debating your answer--I agree with you. I just wanted to make the clarification since Polania was brought up.


Polania was brought up because the only way for there to be combat in a lake as of right now is with Polania submerge vs Nordic Seaworthy. Basically the ONLY way for the situation of Nords attempting to retreat to a enemy occupied lake to come up is if Polania submerge is present in the game. Hence just as the quote says, "The OP is asking about a specific case that involves both Nordic's Seaworthy and Polania's Submerge abilities." He didn't mean that Polania's Submerge also allowed retreating, just that the situation involved both abilities.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bård Holst
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
allstar64 wrote:
claudermilk wrote:
Painkeeper wrote:

The OP is asking about a specific case that involves both Nordic's Seaworthy and Polania's Submerge abilities.




Not debating your answer--I agree with you. I just wanted to make the clarification since Polania was brought up.


Polania was brought up because the only way for there to be combat in a lake as of right now is with Polania submerge vs Nordic Seaworthy. Basically the ONLY way for the situation of Nords attempting to retreat to a enemy occupied lake to come up is if Polania submerge is present in the game. Hence just as the quote says, "The OP is asking about a specific case that involves both Nordic's Seaworthy and Polania's Submerge abilities." He didn't mean that Polania's Submerge also allowed retreating, just that the situation involved both abilities.


Actually I was playing with the Nordic faction solo against the Automa.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Burigo
Italy
Belluno
flag msg tools
designer
badge
“Don't try the paranormal until you know what's normal.” - Granny Weatherwax
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nusferatu wrote:
Actually I was playing with the Nordic faction solo against the Automa.


LOL! A scenario I didn't accounted for. My bad. laugh
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.