United States
Wesley Chapel
Florida
flag msg tools
No matter where you go, there you are.
badge
Preserve Our Wildlife!
mbmbmbmbmb
I know I asked this question in a different thread, but that thread's title was about the difference between the Gen X edition of the game and Gryphon games. I wanted to make a post where the request for similar games was the headline so I might get a few more replies. So...

My very first game of 2 de Mayo commences tonight. I studied the rules, watched the videos, read the FAQs, and cannot wait to play. I think this game could be one of my favorite games of all time. Area control, asymmetrical objectives, cubes, a smallish-map, and a play time under 45 minutes. What's not to love if you like this type of game? Let's hope it lives up to the hype I have for it.

I can only imagine that games that were this popular (it seemed to be fairly popular a few years ago) must have had at least a few games similar to it in some respects.

I like the idea of medium to small area control games. Preferably that play well with 2 (even exclusively 2). I have Sun Tzu which, though a different game, seems to fall into that same small-ish 2 player area control card driven game category. I think Tiny Epic Kingdoms and Tiny Epic Galaxies have a similar feel as well. So does Eight Minute Empire for that matter.

However, I must say I'm intrigued by the asymmetrical win conditions of 2 de Mayo.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
...sure...
Netherlands
Rijen
Noord Brabant
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
7 Ronin ? Asymmetrical. Twoplayer. Under an hour. Smallish map.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Miles
United States
Austin
Texas (TX)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
W1815? Not quite the same as 2 de Mayo, but it has a small footprint, and it plays in less than 30 minutes.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ad Astra Per Aspera
United States
Wesley Chapel
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Preserve Our Wildlife!
mbmbmbmbmb