Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Carcassonne» Forums » Rules

Subject: City scoring at the end of the game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bastian Lara

Leipzig
Germany
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
What happend at the end of the game if a city is not closed and one persons has the most influence in the city. Is he/she allowed to score alone or are the other persons with influence in this city also allowed to score? I am 95% sure that just the person with the most influence is allowed to score meeple
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Redford
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only the one with the most influence scores it. The others get nothing.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben
United States
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only the person who has majority of a city scores. They will score half of the normal points. So instead of 2 points per a tile, they will score 1 point per a tile at game end.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
L H
United States
Lehi
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MrFettuccine wrote:
Only the person who has majority of a city scores. They will score half of the normal points. So instead of 2 points per a tile, they will score 1 point per a tile at game end.

Unless there is a cathedral in the city... In which case no points are scored.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PJ Cunningham
United States
Greenfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The above answers are correct. I'll just add a few more points for clarity.

- If 2 or more players ties for most influence, all tied players get the points (don't split it).

- If the unfinished city contains a cathedral tile (from Inns & Cathedrals), no points are scored for it.

- No one gets Trade Goods (from Traders & Builders) from unfinished cities.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And one more:

- shields in an uncompleted city are worth a point each to the player with the meeple majority in that city.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tomello Visello
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
b1sti wrote:
I am 95% sure that just the person with the most influence is allowed to score :meeple:

Do the rules leave you uncertain? Here is a quote as found the current Z-Man rules, copyright 2014, in a section titled "GAME END AND FINAL SCORING"

Once the game is over, all meeples still in play are scored: 
...
Each incomplete city is worth 1 point per tile and 1 point per coat of arms, which is only half the points.



This section says nothing special about scoring a feature that several players share, so it may be presumed that the rules stated earlier remain in effect. This quote from a "Summary" section with the heading "3. Scoring a feature"

* If there are multiple meeples in a single scored feature, the player with the most meeples is awarded full points and all other players receive nothing. When more than one player have the most meeples in a scored feature, the tied players all score full points.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Heim
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
What if an incomplete city has opposing player's meeples in different parts of the city and the city is not connected. In other words, there is no way to not connect the two meeples within the same city, but there are no tiles left, leaving two separate cities.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Byron S
United States
Ventura
California
flag msg tools
I don't remember what I ate last night
badge
but I can spout off obscure rules to all sorts of game like nobody's business!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jeffh092 wrote:
What if an incomplete city has opposing player's meeples in different parts of the city and the city is not connected. In other words, there is no way to not connect the two meeples within the same city, but there are no tiles left, leaving two separate cities.

If they're not connected, they're not the same city. Score them separately.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Désirée Greverud
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jeffh092 wrote:
What if an incomplete city has opposing player's meeples in different parts of the city and the city is not connected. In other words, there is no way to not connect the two meeples within the same city, but there are no tiles left, leaving two separate cities.


Why would there be no way not to? there are plenty of tiles that cap off two sides allowing you to keep cities from connected.

But as mentioned already, what could have been is irrelevant. You score the cities as they are and if they are not connected at the end of the game, they are separate cities.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.