Corey Hopkins
United States
Converse
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Does Gary Johnson?

Because his campaign posted an altered version of a Houston cartoonist's published work without permission or attribution.

http://www.chron.com/news/politics/article/Gary-Johnson-uses...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Bitter and Acerbic Harridan
It's really entertaining when someone starts a thread about a Johnson screwup. At least when viewed against the many mind boggling transgressions of Hillrod and Trumpkin.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Bartosh

Sunnyvale
California
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A (very) brief exploration on the subject indicates that they are split on it, which makes sense, as there are compelling reasons to both support and rail against it.

As a writer, I do understand the difficulties and obstacles presented by copyright. I actually do dislike many of them. Creator/Fandom involvement are also particularly strong cases for being more leniant with copyright as they often work in concert to strengthen interest in the material and benefit both the original creators and the fans.

At the same, the benefits are also fairly clear.

The article I just read (http://freenation.org/a/f31l1.html) feels like the solutions to abolishing it ultimately fall flat to me, I feel. This, in particular, feels like a concession to being unable to actually handle a situation:

Quote:
But what if I do go ahead and market your work without your permission, and without offering you any share of the profits? Is there nothing wrong with this? Can nothing be done about this?

In the case described, I don't think what I've done is unjust. That is, it's not a violation of anyone's rights. But it's tacky. Violating someone's rights is not the only way one can do something wrong; justice is not the only virtue.