Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Realms» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification: when is discard pile shuffled to form new draw deck rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven H.
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
As the subject states, when do we shuffle the discard pile to form a new deck? Specifically, is it when the draw deck runs out, or when we need to draw a card and the deck is empty?

It may sound like I'm splitting hairs, but this makes a difference to the player who goes second. They will almost always end their first turn with an empty deck; they drew 5 when the game started, then drew another 5 at the end of their 1st turn. If they don't shuffle their deck until they need to draw, then that means they don't shuffle until the end of their second turn, and cards they bought in that second turn get shuffled in. If instead they shuffle as soon as the deck runs out, they're shuffling at the end of their 1st turn; this gets their 1st turn cards into the deck more quickly but their 2nd turn cards more slowly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you need to draw but the draw pile is empty.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Sell
United States
Stevens Point
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
It's my understanding that "never" is the correct answer.
I have played 2500 games online and only once ran the deck out, and that was intentionally. I have never seen it happen besides that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Ramsey
United States
Grove City
OH
flag msg tools
badge
Hush
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
oddtime wrote:
It's my understanding that "never" is the correct answer.
I have played 2500 games online and only once ran the deck out, and that was intentionally. I have never seen it happen besides that.


The OP means the players individual decks, not the center pool deck.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Baier
United States
Grand Forks
North Dakota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As with almost every deckbuilding game, the moment you need to draw and the deck has no more cards, reshuffle.

Drawing a 5 card hand and there's only 3 left in the deck? Then, draw 3, shuffle, draw 2 more.

This matters at different times, like when you have cards in hand that draw and your deck is empty. Before you force a shuffle, you may:

1) first buy something good with the chance of top-decking it when the draw card is played
2) play scrap abilities to remove unwanted cards from your deck so they won't be in the next shuffle
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven H.
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Thanks for your help everyone. Shuffling when you needed to draw and the pile was empty (and no sooner) seemed to be what the rule booklet in my card box implied, but the website seemed to state differently.

According to the Learn to Play page (http://www.starrealms.com/learn-to-play/), "When your Personal Deck runs out of cards, you’ll shuffle your discard pile into a new Personal Deck." That suggests you shuffle immediately when the pile runs out (rather than waiting until you need to draw), but I suppose that's a simplification of the rules. We'll go with a more strict reading of the printed booklet, which only mentions shuffling in the context of drawing.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Taylor
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Can confirm. You reshuffle only when you need to draw a card or the game requires a card to be in your deck (such as looking at the top card).

Ian Taylor
Director of Organized Play
White Wizard Games
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
IanWWG wrote:
Can confirm. You reshuffle only when you need to draw a card or the game requires a card to be in your deck (such as looking at the top card).

Ian Taylor
Director of Organized Play
White Wizard Games

Oh, hello. Now this is new. Do I smell Y2 promos?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.