Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mark selleck
Australia
Alice Springs
NT
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So for my first AAR of Battlelore. I must admit I am very very late to Battlelore, I am a veteran of most of the other C&C titles like Memoir 44, Ancients, Napoleonics and the Great war. I overlooked Battlelore all those years ago as I had just assumed it was a fantasy version of the system and didn’t look into the game much at all (The cover just gave me that impression). Though I actually read a bit about the game recently and discovered it was possible to play historical scenarios, so I thought im in. Only problem …out of print but I have been able to track down a copy of the game and some of the expansions.

So I thought I would do a report on the Agincourt battle that features first up in the base game adventures. I have already played this a number of times and found the French just kept thrashing the English. The main reason for this I believe is due to 2 major historical factors being ignored, the English long bow and the muddy ground (I understand this was a training scenario so things were kept simple).

So for this play through Im going to alter a few things and see how things turn out:

- English get the Longbow weapon card for all their arches
- Infantry units may not gain ground
- Cavalry may not make a pursuit and bonus attack
- I will use the Medieval lore rules

I will play the battle back rules as per the base game rules as this seems to still fit in, as a well-supported unit would still be a foe to be reckoned with even in the conditions.

AGINCOURT, October 25, 1415

English have a command of 6 and move first.

French have a command of 4.

Victory occurs for the first side to capture 4 banners.

Turn 1 (English)