Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Yomi (second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: How do you play a card with "special abilities"? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff M
United States
Lafayette
California
flag msg tools
mb
Can't seem to find this anywhere in the rules.
How does a card with "special abilities" text get used?
ie, for Midori, the "2" value cards all change you into your "dragon form", allowing you to use your "dragon moves" on your face cards/aces.
How does that work?

Do you play a "2" as normal, but then when it comes time for you to discard the cards played do you keep it on the table to show it's ongoing affect on all future rounds..till it is removed by the actions noted in it's description? DOES it stay around for future rounds? ie, lets say the ONLY card you play that round is a "2". Does it now stay in play off to the side after the round it was played in is over to show it's "Dragon Form" is in affect for future rounds?

Or, does the "Dragon Form" only work for that round...therefore only affecting cards you play in combination off the "2"...and then at the end of the battle the "2" gets removed with all the other cards?


Do you play it off to the side to be in "Dragon Form" when you play another card that requires you to be in "Dragon Form"...not counting the 2's normal action? (ie, not playing it as a "Combo card", but just a card you put down off to one side to put you in Dragon Form)?

Same question for all the other "special ability" cards out there, with their abilities affecting different parts of the game cycle. Do they all get "activated" in the same basic manner..unless the card specifically states some different mechanism?

Thanks


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They are played separately from the card you select to play face down, in the phase indicated on the card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff M
United States
Lafayette
California
flag msg tools
mb
So...you have the card in your hand, you put it on the table after the Draw phase in preparation for that rounds combat.

After the battle, does the card stay in play for future rounds (unless you are forced to discard it per the abilities description?)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Christensen
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lowden025 wrote:
So...you have the card in your hand, you put it on the table after the Draw phase in preparation for that rounds combat.

After the battle, does the card stay in play for future rounds (unless you are forced to discard it per the abilities description?)


Dragon Form will stay in play until Midori reveals a non dragon throw or attack. Or if he is throw. Once either of those things happen then the card will be sent to the discard.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff M
United States
Lafayette
California
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks all. Very helpful.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dom Hiob
Germany
Bonn
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Benkyo wrote:
They are played separately from the card you select to play face down, in the phase indicated on the card.


Mostly, that is. From page 4 of the rulebook:

rulebook p. 4 wrote:

During Combat. You play most abilities from your hand instead of using the card in combat, but “During Combat” abilities modify that card’s properties when used in combat. For example, Rook’s Windmill Crusher (King) has a “During Combat” ability that lets it beat some normal attacks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.