$5.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

The Gallerist» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reminder: Order matters, check the player reference rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Grabiner
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After you have played a few times, you will probably remember what you do with each of the actions. However, the order of doing things is important; it matters when in your turn you spend Influence versus gaining Influence.

Buy a Work of Art: Pay for the work, then increase the artist's Fame, then move the work to your gallery. Therefore, you can spend Influence to pay part of the cost, then spend Influence to increase the artist's Fame. And if the purchase makes the artist a Celebrity (even if you have to spend Influence to do this), you can put the new artwork in your fourth gallery slot.

Hire assistants: Pay the cost of all the assistants, then get all the bonuses (at least it appears that this is how the rules are written). Therefore, you cannot gain Influence for hiring your fourth assistant, then use that Influence to pay for hiring your fifth assistant.

Promote an artist: Pay the Influence, then receive the bonus, then increase the artist's Fame. Therefore, you can promote an Artist to level 2, get the bonus Influence, and use that Influence to increase the artist's Fame further.

Take a Reputation tile: Gain the Influence for the column, then move the tile to your board and gain the appropriate bonus, then place an assistant on the space. Therefore, if you choose the bonus of increasing an artist's Fame, you can use the Influence you gained by taking the tile to further increase the artist's Fame. From this wording, it would also appear that you could choose the bonus of a free assistant and place that assistant, but a clarification says that this is not allowed; you must have an assistant available to go to the International Market.

International Auction: Gain the Influence for the column, then pay the price for your bid, then take the bonus, then place an assistant on the space. Therefore, you can use the Influence you gained from the column to help pay for your bid, but you cannot use Influence or money from the space to help pay for your bid. And as with the Reputation tiles, the clarification says that you must have an assistant already available; you cannot take a spot with a bonus assistant and place him.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.