Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Explorers of the North Sea» Forums » Rules

Subject: loading/unloading question. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Billy wardlaw
msg tools
Can loading livestock be done in one action, if you have a one viking on the boat already, and one viking on the land with the livestock? Or, do you have to spend one action moving a viking off the boat and then another action to move a viking and 2 livestock onto the boat? The rules make it sound as if when a viking is present on both the boat and the land with the livestock, you can simple move the livestock - is that a correct understanding?


Tangentially, can you not move more than 2 collocated vikings with a single action? So for example, does it take 3 actions to move 5 collocated vikings, when attacking a 5 strength settlement? And since there is not restriction on the number of vikings that may load or unload from a boat, would it be 2 actions to attack the strength 5 settlement if you had to adjacent on land and three adjacent on a boat - ie. more efficient?


Thanks,

BDub

PS. played my first game of Explorers this evening - a 4-player game. Had a blast, everyone like it and was looking forwards to a Rune Saga run. Thanks for all the hard work, Shem.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shem Phillips
New Zealand
Waikanae
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Billy. Your understanding of loading Livestock is correct. As long as there is a Viking on land, you can load Livestock (with or without moving that Viking).

You're right with the next point too. Unloading 3 Vikings is a single action, while moving 3 over land would take 2 actions.

Glad to hear you enjoyed your first play!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Parker
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In regards to livestock actions I tend to think of it as "pushing" them along (with the option of moving with them). That explanation has helped a bit when teaching others the rules.

Fun little game!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Belcher
Australia
New Norfollk
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Are you allowed to have NO vikings on the boat? Obviously it can't move until you load some back on, but is it allowed to leave it empty (or with just livestock) "at anchor" while you manage your vikings and livestock on land?

Cheers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shem Phillips
New Zealand
Waikanae
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Belcher
Australia
New Norfollk
Tasmania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
awesome - thanks! I think we just overthought that one - there's nothing in the rules that say it's a problem.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.