$15.00
$20.00
$5.00
$30.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Adding influence using an event rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Giacomo Fusetti
Italy
Turate
flag msg tools
Hello.
If a card lets you add 1 influence somewhere on the map (like Colonial Rear Guards, for example), and the opponent already controls that country, are you allowed to do it? I'm asking because of the 2 OPs needed to add 1 influence in case the country is controlled by the other player.
If yes, if the opponent has control by just 1 point, you should be able to destabilize it by simply placing 1 influence.

Also, if I play De Gaulle and Nato hasn't been played yet, will it affect Nato as soon as it's played, or you only have to play it after?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Suita
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
mbmbmbmbmb
Placing influence due to an event is not affected by the 2 for 1 OP exchange.

De Gaulle effect remains even if NATO is played later.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Giacomo Fusetti
Italy
Turate
flag msg tools
Benkyo wrote:
Placing influence due to an event is not affected by the 2 for 1 OP exchange.

De Gaulle effect remains even if NATO is played later.


Appreciate that!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
To elaborate, ops are not quite the same thing as influence. The two for one penalty only applies to the ops you are using to purchase influence. When an event simply calls for you to place influence directly, there are no ops being spent, and therefore no penalty involved.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Train gamer, Euro gamer and War gamer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
SD40 wrote:
One other thing to remember is the Golden Rule that is in many GMT and other card game rulebooks:

(See 5.5 page 5)

Except as noted in rule 10.1.5, card text that contradicts the written rules supersedes the written rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.