$35.00
Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Victory in Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: An SR and a regroup question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
juerg haeberli
msg tools
Lets assume that a neutral Italy has a unit in the Western Med.
The Allies want to SR a unit through the Western Med into Egypt.
Since the Western Med is not friendly to the Allies and is not an uncontrolled neutral sea zone either, this seems not possible.
Would this be correct.

If 3 Axis ground units win a combat in Warsaw, how many can regroup to Berlin ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron Draker
United States
McLean
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
If Italy is not at war, then it does not control sea zones and the Allies could move through the zone as if it is vacant.

I don't have the map in front of me but if I remember right it's a river border and so only one ground unit could regroup back to Berlin. If it's a clear border, two ground units could regroup out.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
juerg haeberli
msg tools

Thanks for your fast answers Ron.

You should check the control definnitions in the rule book.

It states that a fleet no disticnction of neutral or not ) controls the area it is in.
So the Italian fleet even if neutral controls the Western Med.

I understand what you mean but the rules dont exactely give the same meaning.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Rice
Scotland
London
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't think your first point is correct.

Rules 7.2 Naval Movement:

Naval units must stop if they enter an enemy controlled sea-zone.

In your example the area is not enemy controlled so movement is not prohibited.

Also Gazetteer, under Italy:

While neutral Italy and Allied navies can move through each other

Seems clear enough?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
juerg haeberli
msg tools

Exactely the note in the Gazeteer which defines the interaction between Italian navy and allied navy gives the impression of an exception which leads to the posted question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.