$5.00
$30.00
$15.00
$20.00
Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Trickerion: Legends of Illusion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Charisma Ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave Walsh
msg tools
Hello,

I don't have the game in front of me, but I believe the ability is called Charisma. The card lets the magician score 2 additional fame when they score 5 or more fame.

My question is this: how exactly do you score a performance? Do you count each trick yield, link, and bonus on bottom of card separately? I played with my gf the other night and we added up everything (which was over 5 pts) and then added the effect of charisma. I'm not sure if this is the right way to use this card, or if it only applies to those high scoring tricks...in which case each yield of over 5 would score 2 additional fame?

I had also used another power that let me acquire 3 shards which gave 2 points each in combination with that turns prophecy. This gave me 6 pts + 2pts for the charisma. Did I do this right?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Schmidt
Sweden
Malmö
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My interpretation is that any time one action yields five or more fame, you get the bonus. I'd consider the whole performance as a single action, so I would total the fame for the performance, then add the bonus once.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael D
msg tools
This came up in our play too. I see the logic in how you consider the performance as a single action, but to play devil's advocate I present this argument:

In a performance you get potential fame from the performance card, from the trick pay out, from a specialist backstage, and other advantages from powers and dark alley cards and prophesies... It is there SUM that makes up the performance payout.

So why not also SUM the payout from advertising too?

Can we say that at the round's end, for every 5 fame you have earned, gain 2 more?

So perhaps it should be every time a player's marker moves 5 fame spaces, get another 2 for free? For instance: I was at 12 fame, so then at the 17 threshold I gain 2. At 24 (19 + 5) I'll gain another 2.

Thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Onyx
msg tools
electricalstorm wrote:
This came up in our play too. I see the logic in how you consider the performance as a single action, but to play devil's advocate I present this argument:

In a performance you get potential fame from the performance card, from the trick pay out, from a specialist backstage, and other advantages from powers and dark alley cards and prophesies... It is there SUM that makes up the performance payout.

So why not also SUM the payout from advertising too?

Can we say that at the round's end, for every 5 fame you have earned, gain 2 more?

So perhaps it should be every time a player's marker moves 5 fame spaces, get another 2 for free? For instance: I was at 12 fame, so then at the 17 threshold I gain 2. At 24 (19 + 5) I'll gain another 2.

Thoughts?

That's not really playing Devil's Advocate, that's just being kind of overly semantic. The fact of the matter is, performances are an action in and of themselves that should be totaled together. You don't take a total at the end of the turn with everything you've gained. That would be too much math.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Walsh
msg tools
I feel like I can't really express my opinion on this issue as I was looking for clarification. That being said, I see where you are coming from. That was essentially my initial hold up with this card's ability. The performance action seems to have a lot of different phases in which you would move your fame counter up (trick yield, then bonus on card, then specialist bonus etc..). I'm more confident now that while each phase of a performance offers different opportunities to increase fame, it's all considered one single action. Since each action is carried out in it's entirety, the Charisma ability would apply to the total fame gained from the single performance action.

Thanks for everyone's responses!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.