Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

18EZ» Forums » Rules

Subject: What happens to minor companies who lose their train before the Black Line operates rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Henry Campau
United States
Mt Holly
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Black Line doesn't start until the first 5 train is bought.
But the minors will lose their two train(s) already when the first 4 is bought.

The rules say forced train purchases are only for "Major" railroads. What happens to trainless minors that cannot afford to buy a train?

Do they remain dormant until absorbed into the Black Line?
Does the owner of the minor have to buy a train? (most probably a four at that point)

I could see the minor staying dormant (not earning any revenue). The owner waits and gets a share of the Black Line later. But he's hosed until then.

I know there hasn't been much activity on this game's forums, but I have this game and am thinking of introducing 18xx to some gamers unfamiliar with this genre, and I feel I can swing this better than 1830, which might blow their mind.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Murphy
Australia
Pyrmont
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nothing happens. Minors aren't required to own a train, so they can't trigger the conditions for a player contribution to a train. As a result it just sits there until it is eaten.

If you wanted to keep the minor useful, you should have put a 3 in it. They can also buy across a train from one of your other majors for whatever they can afford.

B>
1 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.