Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Europe Engulfed» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some small uncertainnesses. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alberto Natta
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
Given we play with almost all optional rules, we got 2 doubts, mostly by rational thinking than rules themselves.

A- Naval Interception:
We roll 3-6 for "at port" interception, and 6 for high sea interception which excludes the intervention of GSUs.
Assuming the starting port and the destination port provinces are linked by an Air Route, we tought it is realistic which no High Sea interception should be doable (examples: Sicily to Malta or Tunis).
Rules do not cover that which could be quite a small exception, but usually is a good resource to assist the poor italians dealing with the Royal Navy using their or german GSU (cause once the first army Italy have in Afrika get kicked by the Brits, Germany can't assist properly with 4-5 UK fleet by end of '40 shooting at 5+ to everything which strat move down aside planes, and our Afrikan campaigns ends up with an Elite Armor getting dispatched to Tobruk in the hope to hold as long as they can with German units trying to reach Baku and then proceed in Persia to save the day)

B- Airborne Unit Movement:
It isn't written, but still, a Para unit can Operationally move along a Air Route as if it would be a GSU, beetween two friendly, uncontested areas? (usually paras coming back from Crete or Malta - always problems related to Italian Navy obviously).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The first one I can't answer; it's clearly up to the designer. But airborne units cannot move along air-routes without spending a special action. Looking at the rules, it's implied (though not explicitly stated) that if you spend an SA for an airborne assault, it must go to an enemy territory. In most cases, it would not be worth spending an SA to move your airborne anyway, but I guess Crete and Malta are exceptions, since Italian fleets are so precious. Hmm.

It looks like the answer is "no." Once your airborne block gets there, it's stuck until you want to risk your fleet moving it out. Of course you could always strat-move it. You'll probably lose one or two pips in the process due to interdiction, which is less than the cost of an SA (unless the block gets destroyed, in which case it's slightly more expensive.) But I think strat-moving is the way to go.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The focus is always to try and minimize exceptions, as much as possible, within the rules.

What you are asking for is two more esceptions, which we won't make official.

Your 1st one is certainly logical though, so by all means play with it as a house rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.