Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: 'We will bury you" card... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bernard Hopkins
England
Durham/Darlington
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Card Text:

"Unless ‘UN Intervention’ is played as an Event on the US player’s next round, USSR gains 3 VP prior to any US VP award."

My question is: If the USA player is holding the 'UN Intervention' card, will he be able to cancel two events with it? Does he use the event to cancel a card in his hand with the added bonus of by using this card as an event triggering the cancelling of 'We will bury you'. Or is it played as a lone card to cancel the 'We will bury you' card?

If it is the first case, it could be played near the end of the turn and there is a chance your opponent doesn't hold another 'opponent associated event' card to pair with the 'UN Intervention' card so it would be impossible to stop 'We will bury you' even if holding the 'UN Intervention' card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alter Zausel
msg tools
Hi,

UN Intervention can only be played as an event "simultaneously with a card containing your opponent's associated event". So playing UN Intervention does not cancel We Will Bury You, since We Will Bury You has already been played before and cannot be played "simultaneously" with UN Intervention any more. But playing UN Intervention as an event together with another card to be cancelled luckily fulfills the if-condition from We Will Bury You.

And no, you cannot play UN Intervention as an event without a second card to be cancelled.

The problem with your plan of playing We Will Bury You late in the turn is that by that time DEFCON will likely be 2 making We Will Bury You unplayable.

Hope this helps.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Avery
United States
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Right. I think that if you as the US had both WWBY and UN in hand, you'd probably usually end up using UN Intervention to cancel WWBY in the first place. In that case, WWBY wouldn't even get triggered and would just go harmlessly into the discard.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.