Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Keith Scholes
United Kingdom
York
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I have been collecting games for a few years now but I am feeling that I am accumulating games that I am playing a few times and then moving on. I am increasingly coming to the conclusion that I would be more satisfied by concentrating on one or a few games that I can really get to know in depth and will repay learning and studying over many years (as I am getting on a bit possibly a lifetime). I am of course aware of the standards such as Chess, Go, Bridge, etc. and have played some of those to a reasonable standard but I thought that I would try to see what else is out there. I am also aware that most games can to varying extents repay an in depth study but here I am looking for something that really stands out as a 'deep' game. My taste is quite eclectic although looking at my collection I do seem to be drawn to exploration and wargames but please do not let that limit suggestions I would be happy to explore a game from any genre. I also spend a fair bit of time alone, so any games that play well solitaire would be particularly welcome. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
'Bernard Wingrave'
United States
Wyoming
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You might check out Magic Realm, which has an exploration aspect. I hear it takes a long time to learn how to play.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Hanning
United States
Jacksonville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
We will meet at the Hour of Scampering.
mbmbmbmbmb
As far as Euro-style, I'd go with Food Chain Magnate, Arkwright, Indonesia, and Antiquity.

As far as a wargame, Dean Essig's Last Blitzkrieg, is hands-down my favorite wargame in over a decade, with one-map scenarios, high replay value, and nothing getting in the way of solo play.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Harriman
United States
Lebanon
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb