Subject: Advice on builds and making new players rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rick M
United States
flag msg tools
mb
Hi, I'm new!

I've been playing casually for a couple months now by myself and with a couple friends who were also interested in the game. We've come to a point where we want to start promoting the game around our LGS and get some more people interested.

One of the better ideas we came up with was to build and maintain some pre-made fleets and have some demo games where people can try out the game with our stuff before they buy in.

As the friend with the largest collection, this task falls mostly on my shoulders.

So, we play Free-for-all melee, Faction Pure (Unless thematically relevant) / 130point / 50p per ship. We have builds for Federation and Klingons, and the start of a Romulan build so far. We're not sure how good they are for new players and we're not sure how balanced they are against each other.

Federation: (Stole this build from another thread)
USS Enterprise-D (28)
Tuvok 5 (3)
Miles O'Brien (2)
Unimatrix Shielding (5)(-1)
Antimatter Mines (5)
(42)

USS Voyager (30)
Clark Terell 2 (1)
Pavel Checkov (3)
Immersion Shielding (3)
Transphasic Torpedoes (10)
(47)

Delta Flyer (20)
Jean-Luc Picard 9 (6)
Sacrifice (5)
Tom Paris (4)
Parametric Hull Plating (2)
Photon Torpedoes (4)
(41)
Total (130)

Klingon:
Chang's Bird of Prey (22)
Kor 8 (5)
Bo'rak (5)
Stex (2)
Tractor Beam (3)
Photon Torpedoes (5)
Photon Torpedoes (5)
(47)

IKS Drovana (28)
Gowron 5 (3)
Cry Havoc (5)
Kerla (2)
Advanced Weapon System (5)
(43)

IKS Ning'tao (22)
Chang 7 (4)
Detonation Codes (4)
Cloaked Mines (3)
Concussive Charges (4)
Photon Torpedoes (3)
(40)
Total (130)

Romulan:
Scimitar (38)
Cloaked Mines (3)
(41)

IRW Valdore (30)
Valdore 6 (4)
Advanced Cloaking (4)
(38)

IRW Gal Gath'thong (18)
Centurion 2 (1)
Tactical Officer (3)
Plasma Torpedoes (3)
Plasma Torpedoes (3)
(30)
Total (109)