$20.00
Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Lamps Are Going Out» Forums » Rules

Subject: Skoda Works & Attackers & Defenders Both Have Inspired Leadership rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ewan Anderson
United Kingdom
Ipswich
Suffolk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi there,
Had a two player game today, two questions came up. Skoda Works event card- states that you immediately get a 6 on your first attack, and refresh a spent artillery, what is the point in refreshing a spent artillery? As all your artillery are immediately refreshed in the regroup phase, why would you have any spent artillery? Can you refresh an spent Hungarian artillery half way through the combat phase with the Skoda card?

Also, how do you work out a combat where both the attacker and defender have a reroll due to inspired leadership. What is the order in which you have to declare your reroll? Say if the attacker loses his role against the defenders rerolled dice- can the attacker then use his reroll to try and beat that result?

Both of these questions came up in our first 2 player run through, cheers! Ewan
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Uhlmann
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
designer
Skoda Works - the bonus resetting of the artillery occurs at the time the card is drawn (if A1 active and there is a spent artillery). This can occur if AH already has a heavy artillery unit and (with C1) has used it defensively, which would otherwise leave it unavailable for offensive action until it is reset at the end of the turn.

Inspired Leadership -

There are no declarations or decisions needed when Inspired Leadership markers are involved as the process is completely deterministic, and the particular rules of Inspired Leadership are applied in each applicable situation as they come up.

If both the attacking and defending units have Inspired Leadership (IL), the initial combat rolls are made. The conditions of IL only apply if the combat was lost and a reroll could change the outcome to a win (sometimes it can't if the other side rolled high enough and has other modifiers). So if the loser of the initial combat roll could possibly change the outcome to a win, a reroll (by way of IL) must be conducted. The IL marker of the army making this reroll is removed unless it wins (via the reroll) by a differential of +3, in which case it can remain. Regardless of whether that IL is removed or not, if the reroll now changes the outcome to a win, the other player (who won initially) and still has their IL marker now makes a reroll if it could change the outcome, with the same resolution parameters.

Examples:
(For these examples assume no other modifiers are in place from other markers, Big Push, mountains, etc.)

It is Adam's turn and he attacks, putting up his army with Inspired Leadership. Dave, the defender, has a fresh army with Inspired Leadership that he puts up as the defender. Adam rolls a 6 and Dave rolls a 3. The conditions for IL do not apply to Adam at the moment since he won the combat roll. Since no other modifiers are in place, Dave cannot win on a re-roll (can only tie, which is a loss by the defender - but an air superiority marker in Dave's area would change this) and so the result is a combat victory by Adam and both Adam's and Dave's armies are flipped to spent and both Inspired Leadership markers remain on those spent armies since the conditions for their applications did not come up for either player.

Same situation with Adam attacking Dave (an extreme case). Adam rolls a 1 and Dave rolls a 1. Adam wins the combat roll (ties to attacker) and a re-roll by Dave could change the outcome so the conditions for Dave's Inspired Leadership apply. Dave re-rolls his die and gets a 4. Dave has now won the combat re-roll by a +3 differential and so Dave's IL marker remains. Now Adam is the potential loser of the combat roll and since he has IL and a reroll could change the outcome to a win, Adam re-rolls his combat die and gets a 5. This does not win by a +3 differential and so Adam's IL marker is removed. Dave, however, is now on the losing side of the combat roll and still has his IL marker and a reroll can change it. No matter what Dave rolls, his IL will be removed also (since it can't win by +3) but he needs a 6 to win the combat. This complicated scenario is an unlikely situation since it requires victories with low numbers initially to allow for a +3 win on the re-roll in order to go back and forth a couple of times, but shows how it would be resolved.

In any event, if two armies both with Inspired Leadership go against each other, it's possible to get results with both IL markers remaining, neither, or one.

At each stage simply ask if the conditions for one's IL marker apply, and if so, resolve and determine whether the marker is removed or not (removed unless +3 differential (net differential with any applicable modifiers)).

Sorry for the long winded description, and hopefully I've covered the situations. If you have any other questions, let me know.

Thanks,

Kirk

5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ewan Anderson
United Kingdom
Ipswich
Suffolk
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Kirk that clears it up, I also forgot that artillery could be spent due to the counter battery

Also Kirk am I right in saying you can possibly get a reroll twice, as in your second example, Dave could potentially reroll twice, in his second attempt at a reroll in your example trying to get a 6?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.