Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Blitz! A World in Conflict» Forums » Rules

Subject: Quick Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mark polelle
United States
findlay
Ohio
flag msg tools
1) if a land unit attacks from Port Morseby to Hollandia (or vice versa), how does terrain affect combat? Does mountain terrain occur in the "island spaces" of Morseby and Hollandia?

2) can a transport hold a unit at an island/port that if stacked with the land unit at the island/port would violate stacking?

3) China gets one resource in territorial China. China can get an additional resource through Lend Lease. So, China gets max two resources per relevant turn?

Thanks - this is an outstanding game that fills a necessary niche! How about making a stab at WWI now?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave LeLacheur
United States
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Hi Mark,

polelle wrote:
1) if a land unit attacks from Port Morseby to Hollandia (or vice versa), how does terrain affect combat? Does mountain terrain occur in the "island spaces" of Morseby and Hollandia?


Actually those 2 areas do not connect overland, just via the Air Route.

polelle wrote:
2) can a transport hold a unit at an island/port that if stacked with the land unit at the island/port would violate stacking?


No.

polelle wrote:
3) China gets one resource in territorial China. China can get an additional resource through Lend Lease. So, China gets max two resources per relevant turn?


Sure, possibly 3 if they retake Peking as well.

polelle wrote:
Thanks - this is an outstanding game that fills a necessary niche! How about making a stab at WWI now?


Thank you and I'm glad you are enjoying the game. As for WW1 .. stay tuned ;-).

Cheers,
Dave L.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark polelle
United States
findlay
Ohio
flag msg tools
Thanks Dave! Your support of the game is much appreciated. Just two more brief questions:

1) when you research new units, can you purchase and place such units the same turn you research them? Not sure if your sequence of play in the rules is strict per placement of rules...

2) Per optional rule 7 (non-mot land blitz): can you elaborate on this rule? "only one ARM, air, or naval unit may move and/or participate in any combat." This is exactly like a land blitz except whenever you attack only one ARM, air, or naval unit can attack (no other units can combat)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave LeLacheur
United States
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
You're very welcome Mark.

1) Yes, you could build them immediately. (It's a candy store: you walk in and pick what you want!)

2) Your re-statement is correct except for what's in parenthesis: one ARM, air or naval unit can attack and *every other land unit* can attack too.

Cheers,
Dave L.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark polelle
United States
findlay
Ohio
flag msg tools
Thanks again Dave. A few other questions that arose today:

1) let's say Greece is conquered. What happens to the Greek naval unit?

2) Belgium-Ne is conquered. Do the AFA get the oil to use for themselves from Borneo? Do they have to occupy Borneo?

3) Turkey has lost Istanbul. It still has Ankara. Can it use the resource in Ankara to rebuild a Turkish unit? Could the AFA allies of Turkey use the resource for themselves if supply can be connected?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave LeLacheur
United States
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Hi Mark,

Happy to help.

1) It remains under AFA control and continues to fight.

2) Yes, the AFA immediately gains control of the NEI when Belgium-Netherlands is allied with the AFA.

3) Yes & yes!

Cheers,
Dave L.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark polelle
United States
findlay
Ohio
flag msg tools
Thanks again Dave. Here are few more brain teasers that just came up:

1) is there ever a situation in which transports can drop off a land unit and that land unit can move in the same turn up to its full allowance?

2) I know air units can't attack land units alone. But I see that air units can attack naval alone. Let's say Japan has a naval air unit in the same sea as an American CV. Must the cv put up its air factor to fight an air round with the Japanese air unit or can it "hide/lay low"? Let's say the same Japanese air unit and American cv are in the same sea for a follow-up round of naval combat. Can the Japanese naval air use half its white air factor and add it to its blue bombing factor against the U.S. cv? If so, I gather units without blue bombing factors can attack naval units so long as they have the movement factors.

3) when air and naval units retreat, do they have a choice of where to retreat or do they have to retreat to the nearest legal location (land or port respectively)?

4) in the group weapons devpt. areas, one find lend lease transports for Russia (like Arabian sea, Arctic, etc.). Can the US and GB move those units aside until they become allies of Russia (at which time I gather they come into the regular force pool "for free")? This way they don't count toward normal new weapons devpt.?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave LeLacheur
United States
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Hi Mark,

1) A TRS that rebases and carries a land unit into a Port could lead to such a situation. The land unit can move thereafter.

2) Yes, the CV must try to defend itself in the Air Round. No the Japanese Naval Air's Air Factors do not contribute during the Naval Round. And all air units can use "secondary bombing" to convert their printed bombing Factors into another kind (i.e. 4 Strategic Factors could become 2 Land Factors or 2 Naval Factors).

3) Yes, the owner chooses where to retreat his own units (within stacking limits of course).

4) No, the USA & AFA must develop those LL units just like every other unit. (And no they don't enter freely later on.) They may build them and provide lend lease to the USSR immediately, regardless of whether the USSR is in the war. LL units must be "developed" exactly as every other unit.

Cheers,
Dave L.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark polelle
United States
findlay
Ohio
flag msg tools
Wonderful! I am in the middle of a full game in which Germany and Japan are trying to link up in the middle east (but Russia has grabbed the middle eastern oil in the meantime).

Follow-up:

1) So, an air unit can do air combat and bomb in the same turn (i.e., luftwaffe unit does air combat and then uses green factors at half value to attack factory).

2) what's the historical rationale for lend lease units in the force pools of GB and US being available to build and use to give aid to Russia even before Russia enters the war?

3) I'm a little fuzzy on what happens to French units in the GB force pools and weapons dev. groups after France falls...you can either choose them (as part of the 2 per turn from dev. groups) or eliminate them from the game entirely to make weapons dev. of other units come faster?



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave LeLacheur
United States
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Hi Mark,

1) Sure. If you are doing a Factory Attack, then there is typically (unless unopposed) an Air Round followed by a Strategic Round. All attacking air units participate in both (unless destroyed/aborted).

2) The USSR could be at war with Japan from Turn 1, and I believe that if so the AFA / USA would have considered possible lend lease if asked for. (No one liked Stalin, but if he was fighting the right others, there might be something for him in it.) Additionally, for some of the LL units, you need to build them and get them to the right spot, which can take a couple of moves. Lastly, it was a convenient game mechanism for the USA, allowing us to add the same # of new USA units every turn, but not flooding the US factories with CVs and aircraft that hadn't really been developed that early in the war.

3) If the AFA players adds French forces, then those forces will potentially be available after France is liberated. If you eliminate them, that will get you access to other units slightly faster.

Cheers,
Dave L.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark polelle
United States
findlay
Ohio
flag msg tools
Thanks again Dave for your kind patience with my questions. Good to finally get a chance to do an all-out play through of this excellent game.
1) do Gibraltar and Malta count as land ares for relevant victory conditions?

2) is it every possible for one air unit to defend in two or more separate battles in a turn (giving support to different areas)?

3) if a battle results in one side suffering total elimination, can the attacker simply move in to the empty space all things being equal (armor superiority etc.)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave LeLacheur
United States
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Hi Mark,

Always happy to help ;-).

1) Yes.

2) In a "turn" yes; in one side's phase (regular actions or blitz actions), no. But a German air unit could fly to help a ground attack vs. USSR, then fly to help against a Soviet counter-attack, then again during a German blitz attack, and again during a Soviet blitz counter-attack.

3) Sounds like you are referring to a Ground Attack. Yes, in fact all attacking land units must advance into the area they attacked (unless the defender's roll letter result prevents some or all).

Cheers,
Dave L.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mark polelle
United States
findlay
Ohio
flag msg tools
Great Dave! I think I have most of the rules down.

1) enemy naval units can co-exist in the same sea space. Can you clarify when this is the case without either side having to do fighting?

2) how do you attrit/destroy/retreat an AA unit? Looks like only in land battles...

3) can airborne units rebase by air and land move in the same turn?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave LeLacheur
United States
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmb
Hi Mark,

1) Yes they can co-exist, but only after the usual combat occurs.

2) AA are land units, and are affected by Ground Combat like any other land unit.

3) Yes. And it's quite effective ;-).

Cheers,
Dave L.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.