Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

SeaFall» Forums » Rules

Subject: Research Card Rules [Spoilers] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Cain
United States
Tacoma
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
The Evil-Do That I Do-Do
Avatar
mbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
So my group just finished a game that unlocked our first chest. One of the components in the chest was Research Cards which the entry in the Captain's Booke said to shuffle and place on the appropriate space on the board at the start of the next game. Some of the new Advisors also have abilities that help with Research cards. Unfortunately I didn't see any rules for how you draw/purchase/gain research cards in the first place. Non of the new rules that were placed in the rulebook from the chest were about Research cards either.

So my question is how do you gain Research cards? Was my copy missing a rule sticker? Is it something that gets revealed later in the campaign? If that is the case why would you have Advisors that would help for something you can't do?


Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You should hide the text of your posting with spoiler tags like this:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
hidden text


The answer to your question is that the Research rules, including how to gain Research cards, are already in the rulebook that you started with. No new rules are needed. Searching the rulebook for the word "Research" is the easiest way to find those rules, but I suggest you start on page 16.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm very surprised that the rules didn't come out of that box.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Non-spoilers:

SeaFall, p16 wrote:
3. Research
Note: You cannot research at the start of SeaFall. There are no maps or charts at the start of the campaign as you have not begun to explore the world.

Pay three gold to draw one research card. Advisors with Research +X
allow you to draw X additional cards at no extra cost. Choose one
drawn research card to keep and place it face up in your treasure room.
Dismiss the other cards.

Research cards are kept from game to game, and are only dismissed
after you use them.


Then there's a "Rule 14" that presumably gets added at some point. But the above seems fairly clear to me -- just use the research action under the Explorer's guild.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cain
United States
Tacoma
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
The Evil-Do That I Do-Do
Avatar
mbmbmb
Thanks everyone.

Yeah, I thought I scoured the rulebook looking for Research cards and couldn't find anything, apparently I was looking at all of the pages except 16.

Thanks again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Chaffer
msg tools
Sorry if I am ploughing the same field but I have a related question about playing reseach cards. Can't find an answer anywhere on this specific incarnation of the question.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
A captains book entry says "draw two research cards". Should this follow the usual game mechanic of draw x keep 1, or does it imply draw 2 keep 2. In the absence of a specific intstruction that contradicts the standing rule, ie draw x keep 1' I am assuming you only keep 1 card?




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg Filpus
United States
Bellevue
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stevenchaffer wrote:
Sorry if I am ploughing the same field but I have a related question about playing reseach cards. Can't find an answer anywhere on this specific incarnation of the question.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
A captains book entry says "draw two research cards". Should this follow the usual game mechanic of draw x keep 1, or does it imply draw 2 keep 2. In the absence of a specific intstruction that contradicts the standing rule, ie draw x keep 1' I am assuming you only keep 1 card?


Spoiler (click to reveal)
"Draw x keep 1" only applies to the Research action. If a captain's book entry or other effect says to draw two, you draw two and keep them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Chaffer
msg tools
Ok. Thanks. It seems elsewhere in the game the default mechanic operates unless specifically overridden by another instruction.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Lowe
Australia
flag msg tools
Something that we're having some issues with

Spoiler (click to reveal)
How many research cards can you have at any one time? Because atm we have a player whom basically every turn researches and keeps 1, so has a stockpile of 5-6 at any given time. Is this against the rules? Or is this just a player whom abuses the system to the point where he can scrap together a good 12+ dice on a game 5 explore endeavor?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benj Davis
Australia
Summer Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dmitriR wrote:
Something that we're having some issues with

Spoiler (click to reveal)
How many research cards can you have at any one time? Because atm we have a player whom basically every turn researches and keeps 1, so has a stockpile of 5-6 at any given time. Is this against the rules? Or is this just a player whom abuses the system to the point where he can scrap together a good 12+ dice on a game 5 explore endeavor?


You can keep as many as you can get, but remember that it costs money to do, as well as actions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dmitriR wrote:
Something that we're having some issues with

Spoiler (click to reveal)
How many research cards can you have at any one time? Because atm we have a player whom basically every turn researches and keeps 1, so has a stockpile of 5-6 at any given time. Is this against the rules? Or is this just a player whom abuses the system to the point where he can scrap together a good 12+ dice on a game 5 explore endeavor?


I don't think I'd call this abusing the system. He's spending 3 gold and an action to do something that doesn't gain him any glory, but only sets up for something (potentially) big in the future. That's like, exactly what the research action is meant to be.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Dexter345 wrote:
dmitriR wrote:
Something that we're having some issues with

Spoiler (click to reveal)
How many research cards can you have at any one time? Because atm we have a player whom basically every turn researches and keeps 1, so has a stockpile of 5-6 at any given time. Is this against the rules? Or is this just a player whom abuses the system to the point where he can scrap together a good 12+ dice on a game 5 explore endeavor?


I don't think I'd call this abusing the system. He's spending 3 gold and an action to do something that doesn't gain him any glory, but only sets up for something (potentially) big in the future. That's like, exactly what the research action is meant to be.


I agree. In some cases, stockpiling research for a few games might be the only way to turn around a losing streak.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Willott
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, abusing the system is
(box 3 spoilers)
Spoiler (click to reveal)
taking the Treasure Hunter, upgrading her research, keeping her from game to game, and then using the Urn and the Lighthouse to ensure you never have to spend the research you're stockpiling.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Along the lines of what others have said, a player who saves up 5-6 research cards and blows them on a single massive exploration is a player who spent 15-18 gold and 5-6 turns building up for that single good result. That doesn't seem abusive to me.

I agree that the scenario Chris mentions does feel a bit more abusive.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andre Tardiff
Canada
flag msg tools
"Choose one
drawn research card to keep and place it face up in your treasure room."

Since it is stored in the treasure room, is it possible to take any research cards stored in the treasure room during a raid on another province just like one could take a treasure card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Becq Starforged
United States
Cerritos
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
AndreTardiff wrote:
"Choose one
drawn research card to keep and place it face up in your treasure room."

Since it is stored in the treasure room, is it possible to take any research cards stored in the treasure room during a raid on another province just like one could take a treasure card?

Absolutely.

From the raid rules (p.19):
Quote:
Treasure Room
Take one card from the defending
player’s treasure room and add it
to your treasure room, refreshed.
Adjust glory accordingly.

It's important to note that you may take any card in the treasure room -- it doesn't specify treasure.

It's also worth noting, just to make it clear, that when you get a research card, you (Research rules, p.16):
Quote:
Choose one drawn research card to keep and place it face up in your treasure room.

So your opponent can target a specific research card, if they want -- it's not random.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.