Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Band of Brothers: Ghost Panzer» Forums » Rules

Subject: Adjacent units rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Miguel
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are a few threads mentioning this, but something about the answers still confuse so...

Firing on an adjacent unit give +4 fp
There is a +1 bonus for op firing against an adjacent unit.

So, a unit op firing against an adjacent unit gets +5? Or just the +1?

Thanks in advance!

Miguel
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Webster
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Tech & BoardGaming Nerd
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
agent easy wrote:
Firing on an adjacent unit give +4 fp
There is a +1 bonus for op firing against an adjacent unit.

So, a unit op firing against an adjacent unit gets +5? Or just the +1

Infantry firing on an adjacent unit gets a +3 FP bonus, not +4 (lower section of pg 1 of the reference card)

OpFire vs an adjacent unit adds an additional +1 proficiency bonus (capped at the unit's normal FP) (top section of pg 2 of the reference card)

So the total bonus is +3 + +1 = +4
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miguel
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! (And sorry for the error in the +3 bonus!)

So, what is the justification for that cumulative bonus? Thinking about it now, I guess they are firing from their proficient fp and the proximity erases that much of their penalty.

Answered my own question. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The problem with the proficient FP system is that is does give the same AVERAGE results as the previous system but not the same extreme results that might deter you from doing certain things. Playtest revealed that it was too easy for the PGs to move adjacent in cover to Russian units with no risk of significant consequences. So the +1 for adjacent Op Fire and the minimum result rule were added.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.