$30.00
Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Pacific Fury: Guadalcanal, 1942» Forums » Rules

Subject: Comments, doubts & clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carlos
Spain
Sevilla
flag msg tools
mbmbmb

8.4 Fog of War

Must a TF-A reveal all the ships when unload?

9.6 Tokyo Express

Isn't it too easy to land troops this way?

10.5 Carrier Combat

Historically, CV TFs were usually escorted by fast battleships. In this game there is no incentive for doing so.
Should the AS factor take in account the combat factor?

10.6 Air Strikes

When an air attack is declared vs a TF in Iron Bottom Sound, must all TFs sitting there be revealed?

8.3 Task Force Types

"After loses have been applied due to combat, a task force may change its type ..."

This paragragh is meaningless. A task force that suffers any hit must return to base so nothing matters if it changes type or not.



Why the back of the counters are plain white? It would be nice to see the navy flag or something like that.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lance McMillan
United States
Lakebay
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
cmediavilla wrote:
Must a TF-A reveal all the ships when unload?


Yes, and as soon as it unloads it goes home.

cmediavilla wrote:
9.6 Tokyo Express: Isn't it too easy to land troops this way?


Perhaps, but that's meant to encourage the USN player to keep a TF stationed in Ironbottom Sound to prevent it from getting through.

cmediavilla wrote:
Historically, CV TFs were usually escorted by fast battleships. In this game there is no incentive for doing so.
Should the AS factor take in account the combat factor?


That would be an interesting House Rule. However, I'm not sure it's entirely justified as the Battleships often operated in independent TFs at this stage of the war, rather than integrated with the carriers.

cmediavilla wrote:
When an air attack is declared vs a TF in Iron Bottom Sound, must all TFs sitting there be revealed?


Yes.

cmediavilla wrote:
"After loses have been applied due to combat, a task force may change its type ..." This paragragh is meaningless. A task force that suffers any hit must return to base so nothing matters if it changes type or not.


For the most part, yes, it is meaningless. However, if a TF-A in Ironbottom Sound loses its transport but also manages to drive off the enemy in the first round of combat, it could change type to a TF-B and still bombard the island.

cmediavilla wrote:
Why the back of the counters are plain white? It would be nice to see the navy flag or something like that.


The publisher would have to answer that, but I suspect it's because making the counters two-sided would have increased the game's price beyond what they were comfortable with.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
roger miller
United States
California
flag msg tools
publisher
Thank you Lance for answering the questions.

The fast Battleships were not often used for CV escort in this campaign. They also did not all the AA guns, the more effective fire control, and better ammo that they did later. They would have had a bit better AA then the cruisers. So perhaps count each BB as two surface ships AA if you wish. They are really more valuable being used for surface combat as they were historically.

As for the counter production those counters were made in Japan and are very expensive. The single sided nature was absolutely to help control cost.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rod Bauer
United States
Larned
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
rmiller1093 wrote:
Thank you Lance for answering the questions.

The fast Battleships were not often used for CV escort in this campaign. They are really more valuable being used for surface combat as they were historically.


I am not sure you are correct here. During the Guadalcanal campaign the US consistently used their battleships as part of their CV Task Forces or screening forces for their carriers.
During both carrier battles of the period (Eastern Solomons and Santa Cruz)the US used their battleships as part of their screening forces.

The game consists of 4 turns representing August, September, October, and November. The only time the US sent battleships into Iron Bottom Sound was in November (Turn 4 in the game). And even then Halsey ignored the advice of his staff who said that it would be too dangerous to send the battleships into the narrow waters around Guadalcanal and Savo Island.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ray Freeman
United States
Berkeley
California
flag msg tools
designer
The IJN sent Battlecruisers into the Slot/Ironbottom Sound on at least three separate occasions. North Carolina was present at Savo Island, but was anchored with the transports.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rod Bauer
United States
Larned
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ray Freeman wrote:
The IJN sent Battlecruisers into the Slot/Ironbottom Sound on at least three separate occasions. North Carolina was present at Savo Island, but was anchored with the transports.


Hi Ray,
I agree with your first sentence, but I think you are mistaken about the North Carolina. I would be interested to see what you are basing that statement on. From everything that I have read the North Carolina was with a Carrier Task Force as part of the screening force at the time of Savo Island. To the best of my knowledge it was never sent into Ironbottom Sound. Furthermore, I can not imagine it being "anchored with the transports." For what purpose?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rod Bauer
United States
Larned
Kansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Historical Use of Japanese Battleships in Guadalcanal Campaign
Japanese Battleships that are part of the OB in the game: Kongo, Haruna, Hiei, Kirishima, Mutsu, Nagato, and Yamato. Following is the historical use of these Battleships during August thru November 1942 (the time frame of the game):

Kongo and Haruna operated together (as Battleship Divison 3) throughout the campaign.
-Arrived at Truk (from Japanese home waters) in September and operates with Carrier TF (Turn 2).
-Are assigned as an “Emergency Bombardment Force” against Guadalcanal in October (Turn 3) in which they steam into Ironbottom Sound and successfully bombard Henderson Field

Hiei and Kirishima operated together (as Battleship Division 11) until they were sunk in November.
-In August took part in Battle of Eastern Solomons as part of Carrier TF support group (Turn 1)
-Sortied as part of Carrier TF in September (Turn 2)
-In October (Turn 3) was part of Carrier TF at Battle of Santa Cruz.
-Took part in suface Naval Battle of Guadalcanal in November (Turn 4) in which both were sunk.

Nagato spent the entire four months of August thru November in Japanese home waters undergoing maintanence and exercise sorties, so took no part in Guadalcanal campaign time period covered by the game.

Mutsu arrived at Truk in August (Turn 1) and was part of Carrier TF support group at Battle of Eastern Solomons. During Oct-Nov (Turns 3 and 4) remained in Truk with Yamato and served only as a “fuel storage” vehicle as she and Yamato transferred fuel from their tanks into oilers which then provided oil for other IJN warships that took part in operations against Guadalcanal.

Yamato arrives in Truk on August 29,1942 and remains anchored there for the entire Guadalcanal Campaign. The reasons advanced for her taking no part in the Solomons campaign are shortages of fuel and bombardment ammunition, restricted, shallow and uncharted waters near Guadalcanal, her slower getaway speed than Kongo's and Admiral Yamamoto’s reluctance to commit her to battle. Yamato, the world’s mightiest battleship, remains at Truk as a “hotel” from 29 August 1942 until 8 May 1943.

The following link contains the TROM information for Japanese warships during WWII:
http://www.combinedfleet.com/senkan.htm
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Jester
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
cmediavilla wrote:
"After loses have been applied due to combat, a task force may change its type ..." This paragragh is meaningless. A task force that suffers any hit must return to base so nothing matters if it changes type or not.


Lancer4321 wrote:
For the most part, yes, it is meaningless. However, if a TF-A in Ironbottom Sound loses its transport but also manages to drive off the enemy in the first round of combat, it could change type to a TF-B and still bombard the island.


I don't see how the rules as I understand them would allow that scenario to happen. Hits can't be applied to Transports in a TF-A until every other ship in the TF-A has been assigned at least one hit. So in order for a TF-A to lose its Transports in Round 1 of combat, every other ship in the TF-A must take at least one hit and is thus either sunk or moved to the turn record track due to damage after Round 1 of combat. There shouldn't be any ships left in the TF-A after Round 1 if the Transports took a hit and were sunk. Am I missing something?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
roger miller
United States
California
flag msg tools
publisher
Tim you have the rule right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.